Herbert=sweetness

Bryan

Hey everyone.. I received my Herbert and Columbus last week. It sounds amazing. I upgraded from a Marshall Valvestate head which I’ve been gigging with for nearly eight years (had it since I was 15). Now that I’m out of college and not as poor,I decided to purchase the best to enhance my playing.

I have some questions for Herbie users:

1) At home, I only had to change my settingsfrom the valvestate head slightly and everything sounded amazing. But when I got to the band room I realized that my setting were too bassy. On the valvestate I had to turn up the bass and middle and turn down the treble to compensate for the lack of bass. Obviously with the Herbert this is the opposite. My usual settings were (in percentage) Bass: 80-90%; Middle: 50-60%; Treble 20-30%. My sound for the last two practice sessions was very muddy. I know this has to do with my lack of experience with valve amps/Herbert. It feels very strange changing from my old settings (adding more treble and turning the bass down). Ive pretty much kept everything around the 40-50% area for the last two practice sessions. There’s no real point in giving specifics right now as im still unsure of what they were exactly. Any tips you could give me would be much appreciated. Please use parentages when talking about settings.

2) My other question is in relation to volume. If we take the master volume and the individual volumes for example. I had the master volume 1 at 40-50% and the individual volumes starting at 40% and gradually turning it up to around 60%. I found channel 3 to be a little bit quieter than channel two. Im just wondering on average where you would place your volumes at practice? Do you turn up the channel volumes very high and keep the master volume lower or vice versa? The mid cut level was also something I thought might be the problem for my muddy sound. I had that around 70%. Should I turn this up or down?