Thinking of getting a D-Moll: Few questions

btdvox

Hey there guys,

I'm thinking of getting a D-Moll for my first Diezel. I've wanted a Diezel for a long time and although I don't play metal, I think it would sound great for rock and hard rock. I'll be mostly playing Joe Satriani covers and 80's style rock songs and it seems without the Mid-Cut, it can do those styles too.

One thing I can't find much info on is if it comes with a Footswitch or not?

I know you can buy the Columbus pedal separately but I don't really need to MIDI capabilities.

Thanks in advance!

Well I just got mine a few days ago so I'm not an expert yet, but since no one else has responded yet, I'll tell you what I know about it so far. First of all, I play pretty much Satch/Maiden style soloing 95% of the time, so I'm pretty much like you probably. The D-Moll is more refined and less hi-fi than I remember my Einstein sounding, so I think it's a lot more versatile because you can actually get convincing blues and classic rock sounds. It won't sound like a metal amp trying to do blues.

The mid-cut is incredible because it's not a simple mid-cut that you turn up or down. It's accompanied by a level control which adds volume that you lose from cutting out mids. The manual says it affects the low mids around 400hz, and it does seem to do what while leaving high mids in tact, so you still cut through a mix even when using the mid cut.

The mid-cut level control can be used as a 3rd master volume which is cool if you want to run the master and channel volumes high but keep the amp at a lower volume level. This is why I suggest getting a good MIDI footswitch because all of the features you will want to end up using will require programming a footswitch.

I personally won't spend $600 on a Columbus, so I too am searching the market for a MIDI foot controller. Hope this helps and good luck with the purchase.