VH4 Died last night

Krowsif

HELP!!!!!! THE GREATEST AMP IN THE WORLD DIED ON ME LAST NIGHT

Not really looking for anyone other than Peter on this one. My VH4 looked as though the power died... checked the back and it had number 4 tube fault lit up. I didn't think that would cause all the lights to go out and sound output to die.........

I am totally willing to package in the original box and send to Germany.

PETER HELP!

Or you might replace the tubes and put a new fuse in it.
I'm not a doctor or anything but it might be a bit cheaper and easier than shipping an amp to another continent.

As above. Replace the main fuse if the amp isn't turning on. Make sure you get the correct slow blow fuse. There may even be a spare in the fuse tray.

The amp will almost certainly require either replacement fuses or tubes.

If a fuse blew....would the tube fault light function?

Would the amp not turn off completely? I'm not trying to be 'smart' ... I really don't know

I'm just confused.. i thought the amp would finish a show with a bad tube.... they work on a pair or something

And if it was a fuse, I thought it wouldn't light up anything.... But the number 4 tube fault light was on

thanks for your responses... this is a heartbreaking moment

If the power fuse has gone, no power would go to the amp, not even the tube fault LED.

If one tube goes, the pair is isolated & the amp runs on two power tubes. I'm just thinking out loud here, but in the unlikely event that a tube from one pair is fucked & a fuse for the other remaining pair is also fucked, you may have no power section.

Make sure no devices are in the loops. I've had a couple of times where I thought my VH4 was knackered & I had foolishly half-pulled a lead out of an FX pedal with the loop engaged.

If you can pick up some spare fuses & a testing quad of power tubes, you can get to the bottom of it fairly quickly. I wouldn't panic just yet.

JimmyBlind":ei4dk4fz said: