Had an eye opening guitar lesson last night

Steinmetzify

So I decided to start doing the forum jams that people throw out once a month.....just to break out of a doom/metal rut I've been in for awhile, combat some 'audience fear' I've had since forever, and just generally play some cool blues type stuff which for whatever reason I don't do anymore and miss.

Talked a friend into doing one that I did as well, and he just killed it.

I picked up a guitar at about age 13 (40 now) and never took a lesson....I'm self-taught and it shows, especially when doing leads. :doh:

My jam sounded ok to me, but I'm stuck in that necessary but hated pentatonic box, and his was 5 full minutes of nothing repeating and sounded killer...pretty much exactly how I'd want my stuff to sound, with minor variations.

We were talking about it, and I was bemoaning the fact that mine didn't sound as good, and he offered me a lesson or 17. Decided to take him up on it last night, and inside of two hours he unlocked so many things for me.....showed me some scales that would fit in with what I already knew so I could have more notes for different expressions, and things are starting to fit together; the 'roadmap' of random notes on a fretboard now have names and some lines drawn connecting the dots.

Just wanted to post it up because I'm hyped; I understand so much more now than I did yesterday and I can already hear a difference. I'm gonna redo the MLP jam today with some of the stuff he showed me, and with any luck it should sound much better. :rock:

Any chance you'll sketch out what he showed and post it up?

Maybe the Pent notes you already knew in black with colored notes to show what you learned?

Dude it was pretty simple, really. I'm sure you guys already know this stuff; some of the best players I've ever heard have been on this board.