Fretlight

animal

Wondering if any of you guys ever used one of these?

I know the various modes (mainly using major scale shifting it around) , pentatonic etc but I'd like to be able to flow up and down the neck better.

Got a feeling this could be a good help.

Anyone have any experience with them?

I never used fretlight, but if you want to pm or email me, I can share a cool little method to learn the fretboard that really helped me.

OK. This is a document that I put together on my own. I'm not a professional and not a teacher or anything. I think it's a pretty cool little method that DOES take some practice. But it does work. I did add some words to it tonight to try to better explain some things, but let me know if something does not make sense.

There are many ways to learn the fretboard, this is just one, please be gentle. They are hand made graphics I did in Preview on my Mac and copied into a Word doc. I'm not a good graphics guy... I offer it up freely to hopefully help someone.

It does NOT cover every possible scale or any mixoInversePolyTriangle scale out there. I think of it it terms of the minor scale and the example is G minor. But you can take this and apply modes afterwords, the easiest being Ionian (major scale). I almost universally play in 6 note shapes and I noticed this pattern so I wrote it down once.

Basic principle: There are only 7 Shapes needed to be able to cover the entire fretboard in any key. Each Shape is a 6 note sequence.

G Minor scale for demo purposes. Once the Shapes are learned, you can use the same movements in ANY key.

Steps
• Learn each Shape on the bottom 2 strings all the way up and down the fretboard.
• Remember the Shapes and the numbers I’ve associated with each Shape. (Shape 1 through Shape 7).
• Visualize each 6 note Shape (pattern) as you move up and down the fretboard. Learn each Shape and remember the Shape number associated with it.

Import points to remember:
1. The Shapes repeat 1, 2, 3…7, 1, 2, 3, 4…