Fret Height and Playing / Bending Implications - Thoughts?

Monkey Man

Super Moderator
I've got a Suhr Modern Satin, which I love, and a Modern Pro (Bengal Burst, and I've never been happy with the sound when compared to the Satin) that I'm "swapping" for a Luke II.

I'm going to put SS frets on the Luke 'cause that's how I roll these days, but don't know whether or not to copy the Satin's fret height or to simply copy the width and height of the stock Luke set. The Luke apparently has "low-profile" frets. Not sure what the Satin has, but they're not low-profile, I reckon.

I'm not experienced-enough to know which way to go. All I do know is that bending the unwound strings is something I'm still not able to do properly (hand issues, ongoing), and will therefore probably switch from 10s to 9s. Seems I'm always fighting the tension (too high for me), but also get the feeling that the fretboard kinda gets in the way in that it can feel "sticky" and also prevent me from getting a good grip on a string when I want to bend it a tone or more.

Way out of my depth here. I was thinking I should maybe go with the stock Luke width and height, out of respect for Steve, but then it wouldn't match the Suhr's spec. Does that even matter?

I'm super-keen to hear what you think and will be uber-grateful for anything you guys can throw my way. Thank you so much!

Thanks man. That's what I thought initially.

This is what I told the guy I'm getting the Luke from, but in response he raved about the ol' '70s Les Pauls' low-profile frets and how much easier they made those guitars to play.

This threw a spanner in the works for me, and I've been confused ever since. I mean, why would Lukather want them?

I figured I must be missing something - a lot of things, maybe, hence the invitation for feedback.