What DAW are you using? Best virtual instruments?

mooncobra

I am putting together a new recording setup. I used to run logic but I have gone the PC route. So, I am looking for a DAW that is fairly easy to use, and has amazing virtual instruments. I am especially looking for great sounding orchestra type stuff. Who has the best orchestral sounds if you get their high end DAW, like Cubase Pro rather than Cubase Artist.

Thanks

I've been using Cubase Pro for 15+ years, but that's mostly a matter of familiarity than a measure of it's (or my) effectiveness. It's a good product and I'm sure the Artist version is as well. I use a lot more audio tracks than virtual instruments, so the Pro version was a better fit for me. (I haven't looked at the specs and track limits for the 9.5 release, though. I'm still on 8.5.)

As far orchestral sounds, the ones in Cubase are OK (in 8.5), but I don't have a decent controller with aftertouch for them. I've always heard good things about, and been interested in, some of the East-West orchestral libraries, but I've never pulled the trigger.

Sorry... I know this isn't much help.

I'm using Sonar, but I've been on it for years. The high end version of Sonar comes with Dimension pro and Rapture, which are both pretty cool V.I.'s, as well as Melodyne, VocalSync, and Addictive drums 2 + 3 addpacks. The processing plugins sound pretty good as well, but I use mostly UA and Waves stuff.
As for strings and symphonic stuff, I think you'll probably want to buy a third party V.I. no matter what DAW you choose. I'm running NI Komplete and it's really good and covers everything you could want.
The only thing I would point out about Sonar is that the midi editing and the Score are not as well developed as Logic and that could be an issue depending on how you compose your pieces.