I cant figure out what I’m doing wrong?

Dingleberries

So far each plugin I’ve tried sounds really thin and weak. Both Bias and S Gear. I think I’m running a decent enough preamp, I’m using a Focusrite Clarett 2 Pre via USB C connection on both ends. Is this normal, do they all sound this way, or am I doing something wrong? Reaxis looks promising, but the setup protocol is too convoluted for me to figure out at the moment. How do you get these to sound rich and full? I’m using an OD and Eventide H9 on the front end, and even those wont wake the tone up. I assume its some sort of user error on my part, as I’m new to Windows. Is there a trick to waking these plugins up and getting a fuller sound? Thank you in advance :confused:

Dingleberries":1xwwc1jm said:
So far each plugin I’ve tried sounds really thin and weak. Both Bias and S Gear. I think I’m running a decent enough preamp, I’m using a Focusrite Clarett 2 Pre via USB C connection on both ends. Is this normal, do they all sound this way, or am I doing something wrong? Reaxis looks promising, but the setup protocol is too convoluted for me to figure out at the moment. How do you get these to sound rich and full? I’m using an OD and Eventide H9 on the front end, and even those wont wake the tone up. I assume its some sort of user error on my part, as I’m new to Windows. Is there a trick to waking these plugins up and getting a fuller sound? Thank you in advance :confused:

Audio engineering degree ;)

I have been told that a properly built and treated room + very good monitors will make a huge difference.

If you figure it out let me know. FWIW I have tried dozens of plugins and the AX8 plug and play put them all to shame by a very large margin so I am convinced it is based on your mixing skills getting these plugins to sound decent.

maddnotez":2jmrmi5v said:
Dingleberries":2jmrmi5v said:

Audio engineering degree ;)