THE Rockman thread

PurposeToMelody

I made a thread yesterday, not a huge amount of interest but I'll post my compiled information anyways :D :D

I'm pretty much a newbie here but I figured i'd find a way to contribute!

The Power soak

This is the unit that started it all for SR&D. The power soak is device that you would place between head and the cabinet to attenuate to power delivered to the speakers. This allows you to crank the amp but maintain a reasonable sound level.

powersoak.jpg

Rockman X100

Then came the Rockman X100, it was introduced in the early 80's and was the first of the "walkman-style" practice amplifiers. In addition to the X100 there was a soloist and a bass rockman. Later the "Ace" series was introduced(junk in my opinion and most other rockman junkies).

It has Distortion/Edge/Clean1/Clean2 Also has Normal/chorus off/echo off (when in normal you play both chorus and echo)also has a 3 setting switch for volume (quiet, normal and loud) it also has 2 headphones out, guitar in, and a Aux In/Low level out.

The X100 was a revolutionary piece of gear. At the time there was nothing else like it. It was an instant hit and showed up on many professional recordings in the 80's & 90's (Ie. ZZ top Joe Satriani)

The X100 sounds best through a full range, flat response system like headphones, stereos, PA's and recording decks. It doesn't sound it's best as a preamp through a guitar amp.

rockman_top.jpg

Rockman Sustainer