Charvel Jackson EVH Custom Shop Tour 6/24/10

Chubtone

As most of you know, my store is a dealer for the now discontinued Charvel USA production series guitars. My sales rep has been talking to me about becoming a custom shop dealer and I have been strongly leaning towards that for a few months. I've been playing Charvels since 1984 and have owned dozens of original San Dimas Charvels over the years so they pretty much had me at hello, ya know?

So the head of Charvel Jackson sales and my sales rep came to visit me Weds and show me some custom shop Charvels that were available. An invite for a factory tour happened and they said, "how about tomorrow?" So the next morning I headed out for the 20 mile drive to the Fender factory. Let me say I expected something massive. Once I get there, it's interesting that the building is not identified in any way as the Fender factory. It must be to keep out what would be constant "pop-ins' by guitar fans from all over the world. I wasn't even sure I was at the right building until I saw my old employees truck in the parking lot. He works in the Charvel Jackson custom shop so I knew I was in the right place. I walked to what looked like an entrance that had all these "warning", "do not enter", "building under video surveillance" signs and one way glass for the doors so I couldn't see in. A security guard came out and asked who I was looking for and he showed me the real entrance to the building which is almost hidden.