Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Mon, Oct 20, 2014 7:30pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 4:15pm 
Offline
Rock God Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 29, 2006 1:37pm
Posts: 4923
Okay...I got a macbook pro last week...IT SMOKES.

Guy had it loaded with goodies...including Logic Pro X, which I am digging so far. User friendly, and addictive drums loaded right in, no problems.

Anyway...testing out other software on this beast, and I loaded Mainstage...Holy shit, after tweaking the Brown Sound patch, I was playing this thing for like 3 hours...sounds excellent. Gonna be my go to late night practice amp. I was thinking about buying a Two Notes, or something for my splawn, but screw it...this sounds good enough for me...Glad I bought a Macbook.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 4:43pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Fri, Feb 22, 2008 8:54pm
Posts: 394
I might give this a try...what interface are you using?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 5:06pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 28, 2009 9:49pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sacramento Ca.
Once you go Mac you never go back..
I switched all my computers to Mac a few years ago and everytime I get on a PC I just laugh..
My old bass player used to make fun of me for having a Mac. He used to say his computer was bad ass and he built it himself blah, blah blah..
I talked to my old singer a few weeks ago and I guess the dudes girlfriend bought him a Mac at christmas time and now all he talks about is how awesome the mac is..
I have never seen anyone make the switch and be nothing but stoked..
Usually the ppl talking shit about macs are people that are still holding on to their prized pc's for some reason and never really given the mac a try.
I really don't know shit about computers but this I know.. My macs are all at least three years old, they run as fast as the day I bought them and, if I plug something into it, like a camera or go pro or whatever, guess what? It works.. NO loading software, looking for the driver bs...
The shit just works..

I

_________________
Great deals with: AlienRocker, bwgintegra, code001, bognerluv, metalhead, mhenson42, tonemonster, Mizati20, blessedadversary777, jkdsteve, EMG77, Garey77, Rockstarnick, King Guitar, Detroit ABA, Warhead78, Engage757,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 6:17pm 
Offline
Rock God Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 29, 2006 1:37pm
Posts: 4923
jski59 wrote:
I might give this a try...what interface are you using?


I use an Mbox Pro 3rd edition...Haven't loaded protools 8 on the mac, as I have it still on my pc....but I don't think I'm going to. I'll keep my cubase and protools on pc, and use logic X on the mac. I gotta post a clip for ya'll.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 6:59pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Sun, Dec 06, 2009 8:05pm
Posts: 472
I just switched to a Mac a few months ago. I got a couple gripes with Apple but overall am much more satisfied than I was with my last PC. I don't think I'll go back to Windows.

I'll have to check out this MainStage software. Can it work with Garageband or do you have to upgrade to Logic?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 8:06pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker

Joined: Thu, Nov 20, 2008 8:48pm
Posts: 1213
Location: Pennsylvania
base341 wrote:
Once you go Mac you never go back..
I switched all my computers to Mac a few years ago and everytime I get on a PC I just laugh..
My old bass player used to make fun of me for having a Mac. He used to say his computer was bad ass and he built it himself blah, blah blah..
I talked to my old singer a few weeks ago and I guess the dudes girlfriend bought him a Mac at christmas time and now all he talks about is how awesome the mac is..
I have never seen anyone make the switch and be nothing but stoked..
Usually the ppl talking shit about macs are people that are still holding on to their prized pc's for some reason and never really given the mac a try.
I really don't know shit about computers but this I know.. My macs are all at least three years old, they run as fast as the day I bought them and, if I plug something into it, like a camera or go pro or whatever, guess what? It works.. NO loading software, looking for the driver bs...
The shit just works..

I

Could not have said it better :yes:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 9:21pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007 8:35pm
Posts: 1202
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Got Logic Pro X a couple weeks ago and really starting to like it. Like the drum program that is included with it.

I need to give this MainStage a try.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 25, 2013 9:30pm 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 21, 2010 10:29pm
Posts: 6284
Location: Los Angeles
Mainstage is really fun. if you like that, imagine how much you would like an Axe Fx 2 :)

_________________
I play guitar, a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Mon, Aug 26, 2013 5:17am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB

Joined: Tue, Aug 29, 2006 7:39am
Posts: 163
I've been Mac. After convincing myself it was better, I had a few problems that just never seemed to get resolved.

Went back to Windows, I'm happy where I am :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Mon, Aug 26, 2013 6:34am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Wed, Jan 09, 2013 11:49pm
Posts: 658
Location: Rutland, VT
How does this compare to Amplitube? I just need something to play around with at work.

_________________
Guitars:
Caparison TAT Special CL14
EVH Striped Series red, black, and white For Sale
Caparison Angelus TR
Under construction: Suhr Modern Koa
Gear:
Diezel VH4
Mesa/Boogie over-sized 4x12


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Mon, Aug 26, 2013 9:53am 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 21, 2010 10:29pm
Posts: 6284
Location: Los Angeles
taliababa wrote:
How does this compare to Amplitube? I just need something to play around with at work.


Same crap. None if its reaaaallly good. There are just different levels of Meh.

_________________
I play guitar, a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mainstage for Mac
PostPosted: Wed, Aug 28, 2013 10:36pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Aug 15, 2010 7:35pm
Posts: 28
Hey I've been using Mainstage for a while now. My 2 cents are that it has a friendly UI, the sounds are pretty decent for practice, but its pretty unstable. That is to say its not gig worthy.. but great for a plug and play solution. If you combine it with any stompable midi trigger you can really appreciate the looper and tap tempo features.

_________________
Jack
------------------------------------------------------
Guitars: Am Standard Strat 2011 / Gibson LP Doublecut Standard
Amps: Egnater Rebel 20
------------------------------------------------------

Good Deals with: Nico


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BigDog, boost, Google Adsense [Bot], IndyWS6, JackBootedThug, jammin1, jsp, Kelly, RG955TT, thawn5150, theminijimmy, Yahoo [Bot], Zap and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group