Where to set DB's on two note torpedo

heythere

Hey there,
I've been trying to figure out where to set my db's on my input boost and output boost on my torpedo studio. I'm still learning about where levels should be. In the context of a mix, for a while I would bring my input boost to as high as 5 sometimes. But then I brought all the other instruments lower, so I didn't have to boost the input or output as high.

Just from what I've been told, I try to get the levels to hit as close to the the red before clipping on the studio, so I thought boosting it would be better. It also sounds fulle. But maybe it's my ears, but boosting can make things sound a little less natural. I haven't been able to come to a final conclusion on this.

I know there are no hard set rules, but do you guys like to keep things as close to 0db's on input boost and output regardless of how high the green goes when looking at the levels? Trying to get some clarity for the most natural and best full sound. Thanks.

When using my TL's, I found that I got the best results when setting my input levels somewhere in the ballpark of -9 and -12. Any higher, and I was getting added distortion that wasn't very pleasant.

Wow, Interesting...and did it not matter even if the levels were way below the orange when looking at the green meter?

and you don't touch the input boost either?

The thing is when I set it to -9 or -12, it records on pro tools at a very low level. So I have to boost the faster to above 0, which isn't good for the sake of the mix. Any other suggestions would be appreciated as well.

First off, the torpedo live doesn't have a input boost feature, so whatever you're sending it, is what comes out. To address the second post, adjust your incoming signal on your DAW interface. Never having worked with a studio model, I'm not sure if you can use it as such, but I would rely on incoming DAW levels on the interface as opposed to the load box.