Wall of Sound III without load box - LoneStar Sound

ghoststrat

I'm a newb with this plugin, but not quite a newb with the tech.. close, though.

Here's my question/situation: I usually run a LoneStar for my clean sound, with a BB and Euphoria in front of it, and was looking at using the WoS III plugin to try to duplicated it. I've used Guitar Rig in the past, but that's about it. When using GR, I just went direct and used the inboard fx. I'd like to try to get the sound as close as possible without a load box (I'm broke), if possible. If it's isn't possible, is there an entry-level box you can recommend that'll get me close?

Thanks!

You could run the Lonestar with the speaker connected but the output volume at 0 and take the effect send to DAW and then use WOSIII. Make sure that you select loop "on" and set your channel masters and effect send levels such that you get a good signal without clipping your daw input (which should be set to receive a line level). The speaker is connected so your amp is safe but with the volume (output control) at 0 you aren't disturbing anyone. Be careful not to switch out the loop as you could blast the heck out of the amp and have irate neighbours to deal with.

You can then use the WOSIII power amp sim to dial back any power amp attributes that would compromise the sound of using this method. You will get a result that is way better than an in the box modeler and exxtremely close to a properly miced Lonestar in a pro studio.

Thank you!

Should I use a DI box, or will going directly into the 003 yield the same result?

Hey, wait a minute.. you're 'the guy'! I actually checked out your product due to a podcast (Guitar Wank) where I heard with Scott Henderson talking about it. He spoke very highly of it in two different episodes, I think. Or I heard the same one twice.