Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sat, Dec 16, 2017 7:52am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri, Sep 22, 2017 1:21pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2017 12:58pm
Posts: 2
I can't wait to buy my Torpedo Captor but I would like to buy one that I can use with multiple amps because I'm likely to be changing my gear relatively soon and have access to multiple amps. The main reason I want a Captor is for quiet recording into my interface.

Right now I have an old Marshall DSL 40 combo that comes with two 8 ohm outputs but its stock internal speaker is plugged into a 16 ohm output that disables the other outputs when used. However, I'm likely to get a new amp in the next year or so (probably a the first EVH 5150 lunchbox) and I want to make sure that whatever I get is still compatible with my Captor.

Could I push the switch on my DSL 40 to 8 ohm and use the Captor 8 ohms instead of the Captor 16? I'm worried if I buy the 16 ohm version that it won't be compatible with many amps but I'm not sure if I could safely run the DSL 40 through an 8 ohm version.

I would rather buy a Captor 8 ohm than 16 ohm because I also own a Marshall DSL 100 head that only switches from 4 to 8 ohm. I will probably also have access to a JSX head (switchable from 4 to 8 to 16 ohm) and there are a few other amps that I might end up using too (like a Hughes and Kettner 40 watt Tubemeister and a Marshall 1959 head).

Also is it possible to plug an Engl E530 preamp into the Captor?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Sep 25, 2017 3:11am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 18, 2014 12:14pm
Posts: 157
Hello,

You should probably check the manual of the DSL 40 and see if you can run it at 8 ohms. If yes, then the 8 ohms Captor will work. If no, you still can use an 8 ohms Captor as a DI box, between the amp and the speaker. You won't get any attenuation nor silent playing but you'll be able to record your amp through the Line or DI output.

You don't need a Captor with a preamp, just connect the preamp to your sound interface and you're good to go :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Sep 25, 2017 4:13pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker

Joined: Sat, Apr 10, 2010 9:47pm
Posts: 806
You can safely run your DSL40C with the 8ohm Captor.

Unplug the internal speaker from the 16ohm output. Plug the Captor into one of the 8ohm jacks, and you're good to go. The crucial part is just making sure you're not using any other speaker jack.

I've ran the 40C into an 8ohm Mesa cabinet the same way, and it works just fine.

_________________
An accordion plugged into a Plexi. Don't judge.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Sep 25, 2017 6:45pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2017 12:58pm
Posts: 2
Thanks! I just ordered an 8 ohm version and am waiting for it to ship.

Last noob question... what cable would I use to connect my amp into the Captor? A speaker cable?

I know the Captor manual is available online and I have already looked at but just want to double check.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Sep 26, 2017 12:38pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1672
Location: France
Yes Sophie, it's a speaker cable. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group