Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Thu, Oct 19, 2017 6:51pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 08, 2017 12:44am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Nov 30, 2016 12:42am
Posts: 39
Two of them! Well, if you forget about the Studio version I guess :D

So I saw this Live unit at local adds at ridiculous price and after quick thought I decided to go for it as backup or dedicated gig unit. Then I realized...what if I use second one as a load via through jack on the first Live? Guillaume was quick to reply to my messages, and he is awesome for that, and confirmed my evil plan. You can stack as many Live units as you wish, the last one is the actual amp load always. :)

So naturally, I stacked them and have this kind of Mad Max Torpedo Studio setup. I use one Live with a room mic and other one as close mic and it sounds glorious. The real "in the room" stereo kind of sound on headphones is just beyond amazing. I am still tweaking it but even at this stage it is ridiculous good sound. Add some stereo reverb from GM2 and slight EQ tweak for the cleans sounds...and that's it!

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Oct 13, 2017 6:58pm 
Offline
Supah Stah
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 09, 2008 12:01pm
Posts: 2566
Location: Ontario, Canada
Very cool! Nicely done!

_________________
EVH 5150 III EL-34 100S, Mesa TC-50 combo, Two-Notes Torpedo Studio, Helix Rack, Fender CS x 2, Gibson Les Paul Axcess Modern, PRS Floyd Custom 24


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Oct 14, 2017 1:10am 
Offline
Supah Stah
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Sep 04, 2008 9:14am
Posts: 4025
I was debating on selling my life towards a Studio or adding a 2nd Live- this allowing 2amps to track at the same time

Hmmmm

_________________
https://www.reverbnation.com/beforeitwaswritten


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Oct 14, 2017 2:53am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Oct 05, 2012 4:41am
Posts: 12
Cool! Do you double latency with a second Live?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 15, 2017 1:11am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Nov 30, 2016 12:42am
Posts: 39
miniboogee wrote:
Cool! Do you double latency with a second Live?


Haven't noticed any increased latency, I guess the "THROUGH" signal path doesn't go in to the converters at all. :confused:
In perfect world...would still get the Studio for ease of use, but this setup works very nicely and the price for second Torpedo was ridiculous.

It is really amazing the difference one room mic makes in the headphones sound, it feels like you are there with that cab...and it's blasting at you.

When playing on monitors I use 2 close microphones hard panned, glorious plexi sounds. I got rid of all my drive pedals, and effects I have on GM2 if needed, but mostly it's SG....Plexi...bit of reverb on GM2...Headphones.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 15, 2017 3:19am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1657
Location: France
Quote:
Haven't noticed any increased latency, I guess the "THROUGH" signal path doesn't go in to the converters at all.


The THRU is a simply bypass, 100% analog, so no extra latency when chaining the units (you could have 10 units if you'd like. ;))

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group