Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Tue, Jun 19, 2018 5:04am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stereo setup with CAB
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 1:08am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 12:43am
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Hi. Is it possible to split signal from CAB for stereo rig?

My present rig:
Dirt pedals>timeline>bigsky>fender pro junior>weber speaker attenuator (as power soak)> line out to radial DI>CAB >FOH

My plan for Wet-dry-wet using one amp:
Dirt pedals>fender pro junior>mic >FOH (dry)
From amp>speaker attenuator>DI>CAB>mono in to TIMELINE>stereo out, stereo in to BIGSKY>stereo out>FOH (wet-wet)

Is this plausible? Can I split the signal from CAB using stereo pedal such as timeline?
What are my possible problems other than ground loops and phase issues?

I know I can simplify the rig by just using big sky's cab filter but I prefer using CAB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 09, 2017 9:15am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1786
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Hi Jmarlwin,

Quote:
Is this plausible? Can I split the signal from CAB using stereo pedal such as timeline?
What are my possible problems other than ground loops and phase issues?


I don't see any problem doing that, it's actually one of the solutions that we suggest:

http://support.two-notes.com/knowledgebase.php?article=213

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 19, 2017 2:20am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 12:43am
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Hi Guillaume. I'm planning to use my pod hd desktop + Poweramp and cab sim from cab. If I'm going full stereo stereo setup. Is it better to get another CAB and just upgrade to studio. If I'll be using 2 * CAB, will there be phasing issues?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 30, 2017 7:51pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 12:43am
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
No advice?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Dec 08, 2017 4:55am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1786
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Hi Jmarlwin,

sorry I was away for some time.

You won't have phasing issues with 2 CAB, no problem. A Torpedo Studio will give you way more option and a better overall audio quality, so if the price is not a problem and you don't mind the' rack format, you will be very happy with it. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 09, 2017 5:55pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Nov 23, 2014 7:46pm
Posts: 7
Are you human?: 951
Jmarlwin wrote:
Hi Guillaume. I'm planning to use my pod hd desktop + Poweramp and cab sim from cab. If I'm going full stereo stereo setup. Is it better to get another CAB and just upgrade to studio. If I'll be using 2 * CAB, will there be phasing issues?


I am running two CABS for a stereo image. Works really well... no phasing issues


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Dec 10, 2017 6:16pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 12:43am
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Wow. Thanks for the reponse. Now I'm all set for a new CAB. I already got 1 and I got a very good deal for a second CAB.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 11, 2017 1:36am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Nov 30, 2016 12:42am
Posts: 53
Are you human?: 951
I use two Live units in stereo configuration, no phasing issues at all. Favorite cabs I am using now are Brit Green with so many mic variations, and they have also stereo pairs! Amazing how real it sounds, like the cab is there next to you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use