Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Mon, May 21, 2018 10:10am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu, Feb 08, 2018 6:05pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Tue, Jan 30, 2018 7:33am
Posts: 90
Are you human?: 951
Is there any way to have the Cab simulation turned on with the Captor, and still record the direct signal from the amp? Tried using the Line Dry output but it still has the cab simulation turned on. I would like to be able to have the cab sim on for the XLR out and a direct from the head to my interface to use Wall Of Sound on. Im using a 5153 50w and have work around using the preamp out, but would really like to use the Captor on its own.

_________________
Gear:
Numerous ESP / LTD Guitars
#1 - LTD MH-350 w/ Floyd, FU-Tone Bigblock and Stainless Screws, Duncan JB / 59 Set, EVH Electronics

Amps:
KSR Ares, KSR Artemis, EVH 5150iii 50w, EVH 5150iii LBXII, Marshall 800, 3 Channel Dual Recto


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 09, 2018 3:09am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 18, 2014 12:14pm
Posts: 167
Are you human?: 951
Hello,

The Line Dry Output has no speaker simulation, that's 100% sure. Actually, it has no processing whatsoever. And it is passive (doesn't need a power supply), whereas the speaker simulation is active (needs a power supply). Try not powering up the Captor (unplug the XLR and the external power supply if you used one), you'll see the Line output is still working.

Maybe you mixed up the connection or the monitoring options of the inputs on your sound interface ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 09, 2018 10:45am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Tue, Jan 30, 2018 7:33am
Posts: 90
Are you human?: 951
Ok i guess i am a bit confused.

I am looking to have the Cabinet sim on the unit active, and have the line out be 100% dry raw amp signal. When i set the switch to "GTR" in the speaker sim section both outputs (XLR and LINE) have the speaker sim on.

EDIT -

When i tried it yesterday i swore I had both outputs doing the Speaker sim. I was wrong. Its working how I need it too but it has to be powered in order for it to work.

_________________
Gear:
Numerous ESP / LTD Guitars
#1 - LTD MH-350 w/ Floyd, FU-Tone Bigblock and Stainless Screws, Duncan JB / 59 Set, EVH Electronics

Amps:
KSR Ares, KSR Artemis, EVH 5150iii 50w, EVH 5150iii LBXII, Marshall 800, 3 Channel Dual Recto


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group