Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Fri, Aug 22, 2014 4:48am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon, Jan 23, 2012 12:04pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Dec 30, 2009 4:53pm
Posts: 90
So my footswitch has been acting up. Sometimes it acts as if it is not plugged in and will not do anything then after jiggling some things around it seems to work. Curious if anyone else has had this issue and also if you can buy a replacement footswitch. I am hoping i dont have to buy a new one but if it comes down to that I want to know how much they might be and how hard they would be to get....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jan 23, 2012 8:49pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1495
Location: Vulcan
Contact Egnater. nate@egnateramps.com. If it is under warranty they should just replace it. That is what they did when my Tourmaster footswitch went.

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Egnater Tourmaster 2x12 cab
Mesa 5:25 Plus Head
Cakewalk V-studio 100
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Ampeg BA-115
Eventide H9


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, Jan 24, 2012 5:30pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Dec 30, 2009 4:53pm
Posts: 90
Sadly i have owned the head for almost 2 years so i dont think it would still be under warranty. Just hoping i wont have to fork out the $ for a new one :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 28, 2012 3:15pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 19, 2011 12:13pm
Posts: 4
I had a similar problem with my Rebel 30 footswitch. The plastic grommet that keeps the wire in place when it goes into the casing seems to be the culprit. It crimps the wire tightly and if there is pulling at that point, the wire can short out. Open up the footswitch by removing the screws. The grommet can be removed by squeezing the top and bottom of it, allowing it to slide out of the hole.

I cut out about an inch of the wire, then stripped both ends. There are 3 wires: red, white, and ground. I soldered the leads together, taped them off, secured the wire back in the grommet, and put the footswitch back together. It works fine now.

I do take special care not to put any undue strain where the cord goes into the switch when I wrap up the cord to put it in my case.

If I may be so bold to make a suggestion to Egnater, my experience is that I have much better luck with footswitches that have an input jack to plug a cord from it to the amp, instead of hardwired ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group