Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Sep 23, 2018 7:53pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 05, 2018 7:19pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 28, 2009 9:49pm
Posts: 898
Location: Sacramento Ca.
Are you human?: 951
Anyone try putting an EQ in the serial or parallel loop of the vh4?
I'm currently in a band that plays in C standard and drop Bb and am looking for something to "tighten it up" a bit.

_________________
Great deals with: AlienRocker, bwgintegra, code001, bognerluv, metalhead, mhenson42, tonemonster, Mizati20, blessedadversary777, jkdsteve, EMG77, Garey77, Rockstarnick, King Guitar, Detroit ABA, Warhead78, Engage757,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 05, 2018 7:31pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 27, 2016 2:38pm
Posts: 1749
Are you human?: 951
Never played a VH4 but I will not play any amp without an eq in the loop. Secret sauce in my world. Makes every amp I've owned/played sound like the tone I expect to hear. Many scoff at the notion of playing with an eq or OD pedal and that's fine, to each is own. I get PHENOMENAL results. And I'm not put out by using them even on a $5000 amp :yes: As far as tightening IMHO, I get much better results on that front with a TS type pedal "clean" boosting the front end. Others mileage will surely vary but that's my 2.

_________________
"Give me liberty, or give me Death" Patrick Henry



Good transactions with: Tuckerbomb>>>krueger>>>ibzprestige>>>journeyman73>>>JerEvil>>>>apophis>>>DragonCrestPC>>>hammered>>>Hardvalve>>>lowmantotempole>>>Mailman1971>>>FLYINRYAN11>>>bwgintegra


Last edited by MetalHeadMike on Tue, Jun 05, 2018 7:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 05, 2018 7:36pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Dec 28, 2009 9:49pm
Posts: 898
Location: Sacramento Ca.
Are you human?: 951
MetalHeadMike wrote:
Never played a VH4 but I will not play any amp without an eq in the loop. Secret sauce in my world. Makes every amp I've owned/played sound like the tone I expect to hear. Many scoff at the notion of playing with an eq of OD pedal and that's fine, to each is own. I get PHENOMENAL results. And I'm not put out by using them even on a $5000 amp :yes: As far as tightening IMHO, I get much better results on that front with a TS type pedal "clean" boosting the front end. Others mileage will surely vary but that's my 2.


What type of EQ do you normally use?
I've always used a Maxon od 808 out front set to a very clean boost with the tone knob at 2:00 and have always been happy but am looking for other tonal options.
Drop tuning is new to me :doh:

_________________
Great deals with: AlienRocker, bwgintegra, code001, bognerluv, metalhead, mhenson42, tonemonster, Mizati20, blessedadversary777, jkdsteve, EMG77, Garey77, Rockstarnick, King Guitar, Detroit ABA, Warhead78, Engage757,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 05, 2018 7:44pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 27, 2016 2:38pm
Posts: 1749
Are you human?: 951
MXR 10 band. I'm sure there's better out there, but it's served me well the last 11 years.

_________________
"Give me liberty, or give me Death" Patrick Henry



Good transactions with: Tuckerbomb>>>krueger>>>ibzprestige>>>journeyman73>>>JerEvil>>>>apophis>>>DragonCrestPC>>>hammered>>>Hardvalve>>>lowmantotempole>>>Mailman1971>>>FLYINRYAN11>>>bwgintegra


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 05, 2018 8:17pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Wed, Jan 21, 2009 4:43pm
Posts: 2088
Location: In a room surrounded by Wizards & Mesas
Are you human?: 951
Mesa 5 band pedal... used in both the serial loop and channel insert for channel 3. Set it up in the class "V" shape and enjoy. It makes the VH4 sound evil.

_________________
Excellent transactions with: sjk (S: Soldano SLO 100), glip22 (S: Gibson Historic LP R7), MrPlexi (S: Suhr PT100), Metalhead (S: PRS SC-250 AP), killertone (S: Diezel Herbert), tlingen (S: Engl SE EL34), fuzzyguitars (S: PRS Tremonti Trem & Gibson Historic LP R8), xzyryabx (S: Engl Savage 120), Devilinside (S: Randall Satan), DarkCide: (S: ESP M-II), Mizati20 (S: PV 6505+), bartmcartman (S: Bogner XTC 101B), thaifoo (S: Engl Savage 120), lester (S: Bogner UberKab 4X12), adrenalinejunky (S: Fryette UltraLead), gbsmusic (S: Fender EVH Wolfgang), savant421 (S: Bogner UberKab 4X12 cab), ams2ek (S: Mills Acoustics 4X12 cab), blastcap (S: Gibson Explorer), braciola (S: PV EVH Wolfgang USA), splawner (S: Wampler Plextortion), mhenson42 (S: Celestion V30 speakers), Gsxrbusa (S: Jackson SL2H), El Mariachi (S: Suhr Koko Boost), braintheory (S: Engl SE EL34), ChurchHill (S: Gibson Historic Custom BBR7), RKnight (S: Mesa Mark IV), and many more.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Wed, Jun 06, 2018 12:44am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jun 13, 2017 11:14am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
MXR 10 Band, works in serial or channel loop. Do not place EQ in parallel loop.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Sat, Jun 09, 2018 11:06am 
Offline
Supah Stah
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 23, 2006 11:45pm
Posts: 3810
Location: San Antonio, TX
Mesa 5-band is my favorite EQ for the loop

_________________
My Gear:
Guitars: LP Custom, LP R8, Duvell Elite, Duvell MBC
Amps: MTL - Modern Classic II - Ultra-Lead - Herbert
Cabs: Wizard x 2 - Fryette


Great Transactions - Click Here:
http://www.rig-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=64423

Ineptocracy - a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Sun, Jun 10, 2018 10:04pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker

Joined: Tue, May 12, 2009 1:50pm
Posts: 1698
Location: Arkansas
Are you human?: 951
I run a Source Audio 4 channel.

All 4 channels get their very own EQ curve.

Is bast.

_________________
Fender...Gibson...Diezel...Mesa...Gretsch


Good Deals with: mhenson42, Hacksaw, barnesjd, jet66, cyndicate, themarkmiller, MOOSEHEADS, Mklane, guitarsignals, losyboy23...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Mon, Jun 11, 2018 1:56pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jun 13, 2017 11:14am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
~Abstract~ wrote:
I run a Source Audio 4 channel.

All 4 channels get their very own EQ curve.

Is bast.


never heard, do you have a link?

I had a source Audio EQ once, but that basically sucked a lot?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: vh4 EQ in the loop
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 21, 2018 4:35pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Jun 08, 2018 5:33pm
Posts: 36
Are you human?: 951
I run a Mesa five band in the loop of my dual recto and had incredible tone shaping abilities. Would love to hear what it would sound like in a VH4


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use