Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Mon, Jul 28, 2014 3:27pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 11:19am 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 07, 2006 10:00pm
Posts: 5112
Location: Dominican Republic
guys, can someone explaion to me how to reamp? I' wanna be able to record a good guitar take and use all my amps to see which one sounds best.
:confused:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 11:42am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Jun 24, 2006 12:41am
Posts: 454
I don't know how others do it, but I record a direct guitar track with no amp. Then I use a VST amp plug-in to scroll through the different amp presets to find one I like and tweak to taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 11:44am 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 07, 2006 10:00pm
Posts: 5112
Location: Dominican Republic
that sounds easy enough, but how can I do it with REAL amps. ?

how can I get the signal out and back to the amp head


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 11:53am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Jun 24, 2006 12:41am
Posts: 454
Joeytpg wrote:
that sounds easy enough, but how can I do it with REAL amps. ?

how can I get the signal out and back to the amp head

That would be much harder, especially if you're only using your computer. That would probably be easier to do in a real studio.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 12:01pm 
Offline
Supah Stah
User avatar

Joined: Wed, May 09, 2007 10:51am
Posts: 2594
http://www.guitar9.com/columnist528.html

http://www.reamp.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Re-amp


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 12:45pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 23, 2006 10:59pm
Posts: 961
Location: Houston, TX
Record a dry track with an a/b/y and record the dry track on the console into your DAW. Find the audio file and play it back through Quick Time or whatever you want. Use the Audio output jack on the back panel of your ULN-2 and plug that into your amp's input.

I don't know if you're using Logic or not, but you can route it back out that way as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 12:57pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 15, 2009 5:17pm
Posts: 11
Location: USA
I highly advise against the practice of Re-amping. You lose so much richness and fullness of your original signal. It's like I told my last producer... "Sorry buddy, I didn't spend thousands on gear to send it through more gear". :D

_________________
Dumble SSS
Mahogany Dumble 4x12
Rizzolo Leafhole Archtop
'57 Strat/62' Strat

"Jazz Fusion Of The Spirit And Mind"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 1:16pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 08, 2007 11:35am
Posts: 1388
Location: Cleveland
I've used reamping quite a bit, and if done right, you won't notice a difference. You need a good reamp box for one. I've used both of these with good results. http://www.reamp.com/ http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ReampKit/
Lately, I've been using the Eleven Rack for reamping and really liking it.

Reamping can be a bit of a pain in the ass, but the flexibility you get is worth it.

_________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There’s also a negative side." -Hunter S. Thompson


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 5:33pm 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 07, 2006 10:00pm
Posts: 5112
Location: Dominican Republic
Dale B wrote:
Record a dry track with an a/b/y and record the dry track on the console into your DAW. Find the audio file and play it back through Quick Time or whatever you want. Use the Audio output jack on the back panel of your ULN-2 and plug that into your amp's input.

I don't know if you're using Logic or not, but you can route it back out that way as well.



thank you Dale! this is my answer. :yes:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 19, 2009 10:18pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 23, 2006 10:59pm
Posts: 961
Location: Houston, TX
Joeytpg wrote:
Dale B wrote:
Record a dry track with an a/b/y and record the dry track on the console into your DAW. Find the audio file and play it back through Quick Time or whatever you want. Use the Audio output jack on the back panel of your ULN-2 and plug that into your amp's input.

I don't know if you're using Logic or not, but you can route it back out that way as well.



thank you Dale! this is my answer. :yes:



Good Deal! :thumbsup:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blackie13, Business, Google [Bot], Metlupass2, thegame, TroubledWine and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group