Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Wed, Jul 23, 2014 11:00am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Isolation Cabinets
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 22, 2010 10:05am 
Hack

So, I've been thinking of moving away from VST's and direct guitar devices and going back to actually mic'ing amps and cabs. Imagine that! I have no closet space in my modest basement studio to record amps, so iso boxes seem like an attractive option. They are bloody expensive though, it seems. I'm a pretty good carpenter, and was thinking I could build one out of birch ply, but don't know if there are any special things I need to consider: dimensions? porting? air flow? I have toyed with the idea of both a built in speaker, like the commercial ones, or just a box/housing for my Avatar 1 12" Cube cabinet and just stick it inside whatever I build. Has anyone on here done this or built one? Thanks, a former HC'er.

Post subject: Re: Isolation Cabinets
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 22, 2010 10:42am 
Plank Cranker Trainee

Jet City Amplification is coming out with one for $399 with a built-in USB interface in addition to XLR inputs, so that's a good one to consider. Stay away from Grendel; you may have seen the countless threads with people experiencing difficulties with getting their products. Kind of a shame, because it seems that everyone who has one is happy with it.

I wish Avatar would make one, since the rest of their products are so nice. Dave doesn't seem interested though; I suggested it to him awhile back and he said there were absolutely no plans for it.

PostPosted: Thu, Apr 22, 2010 12:10pm 
Hack

That USB output sounds cool. I'll poke around and see what I can find.

PostPosted: Thu, Apr 22, 2010 12:18pm 
Plank Cranker Trainee

The Jet City is probably a good idea to start with, since it´s the cheapest one out there and the rest of their line seems pretty darn solid.

I´d want to try the Rivera Silent Sister, though... seems like they´ve put a lot of serious thought into it.