Frustrated! My pinky locks my ring finger in ascending runs

manyaxes

First of all, I must say I'm no noob trying to play major scales for the first time. I've been playing for many years, and after analyzing my technique I've find a flaw. When playing ascending runs, for example 3 note per string major scale patterns with all 4 fretting fingers, I have trouble playing cleanly when I play something like 1-3-4 (index-ring-pinky) and then jump to the next string and fret with my index. My pinky will lock my ring finger, which won't "pull up" and fly high enough over the next string properly, but will fly low and mute it a bit. That is, when I play 1-3-4 on the 5th string and then 1 on the 4th, my ring finger won't get enough height after playing its note on the 5th, and will mute the 4th string, not letting me hear what I fret with the index on the 4th and losing the percussive sound of a fast run. I hope I made myself clear.

I have been practicing for ages and I have noticed little to no improvement. When I play slow I can do it well enough, but it takes some effort to bring that finger up. If I don't use the pinky and play everything with the first 3 fingers I can play it very fast with no problem whatsoever.

Do you know any exercise or tip that could improve this?

while practicing forget the speed and go slw...then you must keep your fingers aligned above the string as close to it as possible as if u r pre fingering..it sounds like your hands r too far from fretboard...also keep thumb on BACK of neck

I think I didn't explain myself as well as I should have. I have trouble raising the ring finger after it and the pinky have fretted a note. I don't have trouble fretting, but getting the ring finger back up to the neutral "ready to fire position". I cannot raise high enough to put it safely over the next string unless I concentrate on it specifically.

manyaxes":1xekzzcn said: