How about the basics?

Juggernaut

I don't know how many people are here like me, completely self taught, learned by ear and Tab, have NO theory knowledge at all.

anyone wanna share some good ideas, etc.... for actually learning the basics, beyond power chords and chromatic runs :LOL: :LOL:

Juggernaut":25borrqj said:
I don't know how many people are here like me, completely self taught, learned by ear and Tab, have NO theory knowledge at all.

anyone wanna share some good ideas, etc.... for actually learning the basics, beyond power chords and chromatic runs :LOL: :LOL:

IMHO in order to learn theory you need to first have a few basics like:

Know where all the notes are on the neck
Know all the major triads + the 7th
Understand intervals
Get a working knowledge of the circle of 5ths
Know how to construct a scale
Know how to construct a chord

amiller":34j750qc said:
Juggernaut":34j750qc said:

Understand intervals

teach me ;)

Juggernaut":2tki8jly said:

Not even TAB for me....no patience...takes waaay too long :D

amiller":2tki8jly said:
Juggernaut":2tki8jly said:

Understand intervals

I'd love to know WHY what I play works, if that makes sense... :doh:

I've asked people who theoretically should know, but you have no idea how tough it's been to get an answer that makes any sense to me at all.

Very frustrating.

Juggernaut":2cfdv87k said:

amiller hit it perfectly IMHO in what is needed to get a good start, when you say teach me what do you want to tackle first?

jcj":3m41wo7h said:
Juggernaut":3m41wo7h said:

amiller":3m41wo7h said:
Juggernaut":3m41wo7h said:

Understand intervals

I've asked people who theoretically should know, but you have no idea how tough it's been to get an answer that makes any sense to me at all.

Very frustrating.