Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Mar 29, 2020 10:00am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 07, 2020 3:53pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 22, 2017 1:49pm
Posts: 19
Location: Nashville
Are you human?: 951
I run both a VH4-2 pedal and a Herbert pedal direct into my effects loop, however I also need a clean tone.....so I need a “clean” pedal that can be used as a preamp just like the other Diezel pedals.....ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 07, 2020 4:53pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, May 11, 2019 10:37am
Posts: 64
Location: Vantaa, Finland
Are you human?: 951
Revv G2 might do the magic :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 07, 2020 5:20pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 22, 2017 1:49pm
Posts: 19
Location: Nashville
Are you human?: 951
I have a G2. It’s close to clean but only maybe 80% clean. Can’t get all the distortion out of it. Thanks though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 07, 2020 7:00pm 
Offline
Immortal Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, May 18, 2009 10:40am
Posts: 16165
Location: I'm BACK in da saddle again.... I'M BAAAACK!!!!
Are you human?: 951
Flintstonerocks wrote:
I run both a VH4-2 pedal and a Herbert pedal direct into my effects loop, however I also need a clean tone.....so I need a “clean” pedal that can be used as a preamp just like the other Diezel pedals.....ideas?

Sorry - I'm confused - you're running 2 Diezel pedals into the effects loop of your amp but you're seeking a clean tone?? Can't you just use your amps clean?? :dunno:

_________________
Professional Hobbyist & Tonal Freakazoid
LESTERs | HORIZONs | DIEZEL | BOGNER | BKPs
...everything's better in stereo, everything!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 07, 2020 9:22pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 22, 2017 1:49pm
Posts: 19
Location: Nashville
Are you human?: 951
To use a Diezel pedal in the effects loop......plug your guitar into the pedal, from there you plug the pedal’s output into the amps effects “Return”. You don’t use the front end of the amp. So when the pedal is off, you get a flat dead sound.
The Diezel pedals can be used into the front of an amp but the amp colors the pedals and sound nothing like the original amps....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Mar 08, 2020 1:59pm 
Offline
Immortal Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, May 18, 2009 10:40am
Posts: 16165
Location: I'm BACK in da saddle again.... I'M BAAAACK!!!!
Are you human?: 951
Ah, gotcha.

I'm out - can't help with pedals - but thanks for the clarification.

Can I ask what amp you're running these through?? Just out of curiosity. Wondering if there's any way one could re-route the signal through the front end of the amp to use it for what it could be used for (clean) - but it could just be a dead-end schematically. I'm more keen to know what amp is the host for this. Thanks!!

_________________
Professional Hobbyist & Tonal Freakazoid
LESTERs | HORIZONs | DIEZEL | BOGNER | BKPs
...everything's better in stereo, everything!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Mar 08, 2020 3:26pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 22, 2017 1:49pm
Posts: 19
Location: Nashville
Are you human?: 951
Hmmm.....that’s an idea, and I could build the switch to do that, but then the switch would also have to connect the “Send” directly to the “Return” on the back of the amp so that the front end of the amp will connect to the power section......and the Diezel pedal is already connected to the “Return”.....hmmm....I will have to make a schematic and see what I can get to work with one foot switch......would still be easier with a clean preamp pedal though....

FYI: I had to build a foot switch with six 1/4” inputs so that two pedals could be run in the “Return” and only one pedal was “on” at a time, so when I switched either one or the other pedal was always on. No manufacturer makes a foot switch to do that....

I’m using a PRS MT15 amp.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Mar 08, 2020 8:32pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 04, 2019 5:44pm
Posts: 53
Are you human?: 951
If you dont want any grit in your clean tone you can just use an EQ pedal. Otherwise a loop select pedal to send the guitar into the pre and back from the fx send, or bypass pre and into (via pedals) return would work


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Mar 08, 2020 10:04pm 
Offline
Immortal Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Mon, May 18, 2009 10:40am
Posts: 16165
Location: I'm BACK in da saddle again.... I'M BAAAACK!!!!
Are you human?: 951
I run a few of these - one of the best pedals I've ever purchased for EVERYTHING.

Comes with volume and gain controls too - I love these stomps.


_________________
Professional Hobbyist & Tonal Freakazoid
LESTERs | HORIZONs | DIEZEL | BOGNER | BKPs
...everything's better in stereo, everything!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Mar 09, 2020 8:58am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 09, 2010 9:41am
Posts: 459
Location: Louisiana
Are you human?: 951
AMT F1 or V1

Big fan of AMT preamp pedals.

_________________
_______________________________________________________
|Hamer USA Californian Standard - Hamer USA Diablo Limited - Hamer USA Centaura - LACS Starfield Cabriolet|
|Sound City Master Lead 50 - VVT Simo-Plex - Yamaha THR100HD|
|Alexander, Effectrode, Pigtronix, and Wampler FX|


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 14, 2020 8:04am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Mon, Jan 06, 2020 1:27am
Posts: 9
Are you human?: 951
I use an AMT SS-11 as a preamp pedal. Has both clean and distorted channels, and the distorted has both rhythm and lead settings. Sounds very good - - also have an AMT SS-10 and I have to say after my VH4's built in preamp, those are my favorite preamps of the ones I've tried.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Mar 26, 2020 5:44pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Feb 22, 2014 7:52am
Posts: 9
Are you human?: 951
I asked this question a few years back;

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=198821&p=2203127#p2203127

The only answer I got was to use a Boss LS2 but never got round to it. This was to use my amp as the clean channel. And the Diezel pedal as a pre amp into the power amp for the distortion and bypass the amps preamp. Post if you try it and if it works as I’d be interested !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 28, 2020 1:08am 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 21, 2009 12:03pm
Posts: 6514
Location: Indiana
Are you human?: 951
I do stuff like this all the time.

Use a jhs summing amp and an a/b box.

Summing amp goes in fx loop, this gives you a second power amp input. Then a/b to swap between feeding amp preamp and feeding pedal preamps into amplifers poweramp.

Other ways to do it also with midi and switching systems but as described is simpler and cheaper.

Also try to mooer hagen gas station preamp for its clean if you want to keep the diezel vibe.

_________________
:rock:




Great transactions with: Dexter Jackson, Pfapin05, Donbarzini, Ratter, Guitarslinger, Sixstring, Empire Prod, Motorpud, Iamthejoker,9841507,Ultron, Diagrammatiks, Juggernaut, studio289, Steve K., Dmtnt, Rhequiem, Craftm1, Red Witch, Reilly, Bucksears, ajr2454, Glip22, jabberwocker!, glassjaw7, Khoi, mizati20, ibanez4life SZ, Glide-on, Prime rib, Droptrd, Bwgintegra,Bognerluv,ben hur,TjSlice, Flizzo,Bronco, leib10, Vchizzle, Captain Stinko, Warhead78 plus like 150 more peeps...


Here long before it sucked.


Last edited by moltenmetalburn on Sat, Mar 28, 2020 10:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Mar 28, 2020 6:47am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Sun, Nov 26, 2006 12:31am
Posts: 149
Location: Los Angeles
AMT F1 or V1. Both have side chains that when you bypass the pedal, it switches to the other preamp connected in the loop. Amptweaker calls it "SideTrak"

https://amtelectronics.com/new/amt-f1/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use