Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sat, Sep 26, 2020 1:20am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 3:41am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 3:31am
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
hi all,

i had a power tube die in my tweaker 15 (6V6 got a short between pins 2 and 7) and since then it keeps blowing mains fuses no matter what i try. even with the power tubes removed and the amp in standby, it still blows the mains fuse as soon as i turn it on. power transformer? screen grid resistor?

it's still under warranty but i really want to avoid sending it back to the store cause it'll take weeks or months to get it back. i got it from an online store in germany.

is there anything else i can test or check by myself before i give up and send it back?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 9:21am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Hi dylan2000

If it still blows the fuse with all tubes removed and in standby, that indicates a bad power supply (power trans, rectifier, filter caps), maybe because of the faulty tube.

Pins 2 and 7 are the heater for a 6V6, so maybe the 6.3 volt section of the power trans is the problem.

To be sure, pull all tubes including preamp and PI, to further isolate the supply. It sounds like a power supply problem to me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 10:31am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 3:31am
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
alright, thanks for the reply. i removed all of the tubes, 3 pre- and 2 power, and also removed the fast-blo HT fuse. mains fuse still blows.

i also pulled the chassis and didn't see any burned resistors anywhere near the power tube sockets. i'm clearly no expert but i should be able to spot a cremated resistor and i couldn't. and the two fuses on the PCB are fine.

am i screwed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 5:44pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Seems that it might be a power trans problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 12, 2012 2:14am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 3:31am
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
dammit. back to the store it goes then. thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 12, 2012 11:04pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Well, the same thing just happened to my 40 this morning/last night, except all of my tubes are good. :cry:

Initiated a claim, waiting for an RA to send in for repair. Man, I hope this doesn't take long! The tone was pretty darned nice, I am missing it already.

With mine, I played it last night for a couple of hours, shut it off, and this morning.....nothing. Looking back, it appears that the fuse blew when I shut it off last night and I didn't know it until I tried to power it up today. I thought that I heard an extra "click" sound when I shut off last night. I remembered thinking that it sounded like a relay click that I hadn't noticed before. :confused: I base this on the fact that when I pulled the tubes, replaced the fuse, and powered up, the lights in the room dimmed and the fuse blew. The lights didn't dim when I tried to turn it on this morning, so it seems that the fuse was already blown.

I still have my trusty BJr to use until....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 13, 2012 3:46am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Apr 10, 2012 3:31am
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
holy sh… i'm so sorry man. i was going to order a rebel 20 to tide me over till i got my tweaker back but everywhere i look, i just keep seeing these stories about these amps dying.

i'm definitely not getting a rebel now, i don't like this back-of-the-mind feeling of always wondering if and when your amp is going to blow up and how badly.

there are enough inexpensive low-wattage tube amps around these days that there's no reason to deprive yourself of great tone. and a dead amp doesn't sound nearly as good as a working one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Apr 18, 2012 6:11pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Mon, Aug 31, 2009 11:15pm
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
I've had my Rebel 20 for getting close to two years with zero problems. I've gigged and rehearsed the snot out of this amps and it's been nothing but rock solid. I have a friend who has a hand wired Marshall 18 watter that blows trannies quite a bit. He's replaced three in a year and a half. It can happen to ant amp manufacturer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, May 09, 2012 10:03am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, May 04, 2012 7:48pm
Posts: 5
Are you human?: 951
Here is a fix that worked with my Tourmaster. It would blow the fuse every once in a while. The in-rush current spike is pretty intense on this amp. Every time I turned the amp on was probably like hitting the transformer with a hammer. There's a component called an NTC (Negative Temperature Coefficient) thermistor that varies resistance with temperature. It's simple to wire into your amp's mains circuit. It looks like a large ceramic capacitor about the size of a quarter. Wire it in series between the mains and the transformer and it stops the current spike at power up. As the NTC heats up, the resistance drops and everything works normally and the transformer didn't get punched in the gut. I have not blown a fuse since installing the NTC. I used a 1ohm 20 amp NTC. If anyone's interested, I can share more info.
Here's a link, too.
http://www.ametherm.com/inrush-current/ ... ntion.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, May 14, 2012 9:11pm 
Offline
Egnater Amplification

Joined: Fri, Sep 08, 2006 10:17pm
Posts: 910
Did this get handled???

alex@egnateramps.com
nate@egnateramps.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Jul 22, 2012 10:21pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Got mine back last week, new power transformer and so far it's working well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 10, 2012 12:04pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Imagine this, it happened yet again! Same effing thing, looks like power transformer again. :thumbsdown:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 10, 2012 1:06pm 
Offline
Wannabe a Supah Stah

Joined: Sat, Jun 24, 2006 8:48am
Posts: 2344
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Are you human?: 951
shimmilou wrote:
Imagine this, it happened yet again! Same effing thing, looks like power transformer again. :thumbsdown:


:no: :aww: That sucks man.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Oct 15, 2012 6:55pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2012 1:23pm
Posts: 2
Location: Colorado
Are you human?: 951
shimmilou wrote:
Imagine this, it happened yet again! Same effing thing, looks like power transformer again. :thumbsdown:


This happened to my Tweaker 40 head yesterday. Do you still have the amp and is it working?
I have owned my for 3 months and curious how Egnater assisted you. I'm waiting to hear back from them. Thx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Oct 15, 2012 7:05pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Head. And no, it's not working, that's why I said that it happened again.

The first time this happened, the power transformer was replaced under warranty. This is the second time and the symptoms are the same as the first, fuse blows with tubes removed. Looks like another power transformer. :lame:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 21, 2012 9:27am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2012 1:23pm
Posts: 2
Location: Colorado
Are you human?: 951
Is Egnater going to repair it again for you?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 21, 2012 10:08am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
We'll see. The first time, it took a while to get the RA number, took a while for me to package and ship, and took another while for the shop to get the transformer from Egnater.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Feb 15, 2014 7:27pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Feb 15, 2014 7:12pm
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
Hi,
My Tweaker 40 combo power (3.15A) blows immediately after replacement. From reading this post I am thinking its probably the power transformer. I have submitted some service requests to Egnater website and sent an email to Nate (Barret) at Egnater. Both with no response (yet). So, my question is this for those of you whom have had some experience from Egnater's 'customer service', which from reading some of these post seems to take some time. Its been about a week since I've submitted the initial request and I am wondering if it is even worth the headache of dealing with this ... Does anyone out there have some good experience(s) from Egnater's customer service? Is it worth the wait or am I going to be without an amp for some time and possibly deal with a frustrating experience? I live near Phoenix and there are some exceptional amp service people around here. I don't really want to fork out the money but I would like my amp in working condition and I really don't like dealing with poor customer service when I spent the money on the amp already. My amp is less then a year old and I haven't really used it that much ... mostly in my home studio. I have another amp I typically gig with, but was hoping to convert this one to a gigging amp now that I have some experience with the tone ... which I really like.

Also, I found this rather peculiar website offering 'upgrades' to Egnater's output and power transformers ...

http://www.mercurymagnetics.com/pages/c ... gnater.htm

Does anyone have any experience with them? It seems strange that if these transformers perform better why they don't come in the amp stock. They seem a little expensive compared to what I have seen and I just wonder if they are worth it.

Thanks for the time and responses. I will definitely be appreciating the feedback.

Cheers,
Dan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Feb 16, 2014 8:27am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 193
Are you human?: 951
Egnater refused to authorize a repair for mine the second time that it blew. If I had it to do over again, I'd say skip the poor customer service and worthless warranty and put in a MM trans. The list of available transformers for Egnater amps from MM has grown immensely, and rather quickly, so there must be a huge demand for them. Just browse this forum, too many transformer problems across the entire line of amps. I won't even look at the Egnater display when I go to any music stores now, and frankly, I feel like knocking over the displays. :doh:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Feb 16, 2014 9:52am 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 21, 2009 12:03pm
Posts: 6556
Location: Indiana
Are you human?: 951
docdmartin wrote:
Hi,
My Tweaker 40 combo power (3.15A) blows immediately after replacement. From reading this post I am thinking its probably the power transformer. I have submitted some service requests to Egnater website and sent an email to Nate (Barret) at Egnater. Both with no response (yet). So, my question is this for those of you whom have had some experience from Egnater's 'customer service', which from reading some of these post seems to take some time. Its been about a week since I've submitted the initial request and I am wondering if it is even worth the headache of dealing with this ... Does anyone out there have some good experience(s) from Egnater's customer service? Is it worth the wait or am I going to be without an amp for some time and possibly deal with a frustrating experience? I live near Phoenix and there are some exceptional amp service people around here. I don't really want to fork out the money but I would like my amp in working condition and I really don't like dealing with poor customer service when I spent the money on the amp already. My amp is less then a year old and I haven't really used it that much ... mostly in my home studio. I have another amp I typically gig with, but was hoping to convert this one to a gigging amp now that I have some experience with the tone ... which I really like.

Also, I found this rather peculiar website offering 'upgrades' to Egnater's output and power transformers ...

http://www.mercurymagnetics.com/pages/c ... gnater.htm

Does anyone have any experience with them? It seems strange that if these transformers perform better why they don't come in the amp stock. They seem a little expensive compared to what I have seen and I just wonder if they are worth it.

Thanks for the time and responses. I will definitely be appreciating the feedback.

Cheers,
Dan



Very expensive but mercury sounds great. I've loved them in everything I've used them in. They are ultimate boutique quality.

They aren't stock because the amp would cost $600 more lmao.

The whole point of this egnater line is to build cheaply in china so more people can afford the amps.

_________________
:rock:




Great transactions with: Dexter Jackson, Pfapin05, Donbarzini, Ratter, Guitarslinger, Sixstring, Empire Prod, Motorpud, Iamthejoker,9841507,Ultron, Diagrammatiks, Juggernaut, studio289, Steve K., Dmtnt, Rhequiem, Craftm1, Red Witch, Reilly, Bucksears, ajr2454, Glip22, jabberwocker!, glassjaw7, Khoi, mizati20, ibanez4life SZ, Glide-on, Prime rib, Droptrd, Bwgintegra,Bognerluv,ben hur,TjSlice, Flizzo,Bronco, leib10, Vchizzle, Captain Stinko, Warhead78 plus like 150 more peeps...


Here long before it sucked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Mar 04, 2014 2:00pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Mar 04, 2014 1:31pm
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
I got an Egnater amp even after reading about all the transformer troubles ..

"Tweaker 40" -- first impression, kind of dull sounding but after flipping through some switches I found some sweet spots and some punch. I normally play through Marshall & Fender & Mesa combos and I typically use a 1960AV 4x12. The feedback sustain I was getting in the hot channel was fun, but not as cool as if my 50 watt Marshall JCM900 were doing the same thing. Its just not even a fair comparison. However, I welcomed the addition to my tone pallet.

I had the T40 set at 16 ohm plugged into the 1960AV 4x12 mono. I had played for about an hour then set the amp on stand-by and left the room for 20 mins. When I came back, the pretty blue light was off. I checked the switches, still set to on and in stand-by but no lights and then found the main fuse was blown. This thing blew the fuse while on stand-by, because when I walked away the blue light was on. I tried the convenient spare fuse, immediately main fuse blew again. So from what I've read about others experiences, the power transformer is "blown." I am just glad this isn't my only amp.

I am not sure what I'll do since I traded for this thing. Guess the MM upgrade is my only solid option. I'd have to see if any of the amp techs around STL want anything to do with it but it would seem to be at a least a $200 non warranty repair for me. If it were a warranty repair I might go for it, but, not sure I'd want another likely to fail transformer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use