Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Tue, Dec 11, 2018 3:10am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 2:39pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 10:03am
Posts: 19
Are you human?: 951
What's happening everybody? I'm new to this forum and tube amps so here goes my newbie question. I recently bought a Rebel 30 and noticed a hissing sound coming from one of the tubes. I called Egnater and they said that I had one of the earlier releases that had problematic tubes. Well, in rapid fashion, they sent me a new set of el84's and 6v6's. The original set was JJ tubes. The new set are Ruby's. Do I have to bias these tubes or, are they plug and play? Please excuse my ignorance. I really love this amp and can't wait to hear it without the hiss. Oh and by the way, the guys at Egnater are real down to earth and friendly. It's nice to see that for a change!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 3:53pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
Pre-amp tubes don't have to be biased. As a general rule you should ALWAYS bias power tubes, as there can be variation even if it is the same tube. Better safe than sorry!

:rock: :thumbsup: :D

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 8:41pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
Yea, go ahead and re-bias. You will not regret doing that and you will know that all is good and harmonious in the floating electron realm.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 9:05pm 
Offline
Rock God
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 08, 2007 10:10am
Posts: 7508
Location: Oxnard,CA
Welcome Man!!!!

_________________
(Muy Guapo)
(Jason)aka UB thanks Kevin

Good deals with(aeroic,Brad King,Buckeyedog,Chris R,Dallas Marlow,droptrd,Dropped_2_C,EWSEthan,fatb0y,guitarslinger,Greazygeo,Jeff Hilligan,Inearthed,jski59,JKD,mfred,MotorCityPickUps,O'Rourke,racerevlon,raysus,rlord1974,studio289,RockStarNick,Seitz333,steve_k,tomx56,valverec,VoodooChild24)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Oct 29, 2009 10:38am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 10:03am
Posts: 19
Are you human?: 951
Thanks for the replies! I was wondering if anybody could give me the low down on biasing the Rebel 30? Is it something I should have done for me or can I do it myself?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sat, Oct 31, 2009 7:49am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 21, 2009 8:51am
Posts: 47
Are you human?: 951
All you need is a meter that measures down to millivolts. Remove the upper rear panel to expose the test points and pots. The center test point TP1 is common. Measure across TP1 &TP2 for the EL84 pair. Adjust the left-hand pot to 40mv. Measure across TP1 &TP3 for the 6V6 pair. Adjust the right-hand pot to 40mv.

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Nov 02, 2009 10:43am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 10:03am
Posts: 19
Are you human?: 951
Thanks alot Danelctro! That was super helpful :rock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Nov 04, 2009 11:53pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
Can anyone give run down on what the function of each of the 12AX7 tubes are doing? I am assuming the one between the two power tubes is the phase inverter. There are 4 more shown in teh picture above labeled V1, V2, V3 & V4. What's what??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 4:55am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 25, 2008 12:50am
Posts: 158
Location: Austin, TX
Are you human?: 951
Any updates? How did the tube change out sound? Any difference?

I just ordered a full set of new tubes from Dougstubes on Monday! They're mainly for back up (I got the same JJ power tubes), but Doug recommended a Tungsol in V1 and Pentas in the rest, so that's what I got! I guess I'll find out soon enough, but I was just curious to see what the dealio was.

That said, I still love my R30!!! :D :rock:

_________________
Great deals with
strungup (trade)
dstroud


http://www.reverbnation.com/danielsalcido
http://tonefinder.com/index.php?search= ... &display=5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 10:36am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 10:03am
Posts: 19
Are you human?: 951
Thanks for everybody's help. I swapped out my tubes to the Ruby's and rebiased it as it was set a little cold. I was nervous about the re-biasing but it was a breeze! The amp sounds so much better all around. It no longer makes the annoying hissing sound. I just did this alst night so I need a little more time to get a full assesment of the tones. I will post back soon with a more in depth report!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 11:48am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
Bumping again on the preamp tubes. Any body have an answer as to which 12AX7 does what function? I love this amp. Just drove up to GC in Austin yesterday and picked up a head. Back up amp is my intention but if I can get the distortion channel dialed in a little more I will be using it onstage for a while just for grins. The clean tones were just unbeleivable. I want to see the look on peoples face when I turn on this little tiny bad boy a create a ruckus!

Edit: Just got an e-mail from John.
V1 input tube shared between CH1 & CH2.
V2 second tube in CH2
V3 second tube in CH1
V4 Effects Loop send and return


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 4:09pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 25, 2008 12:50am
Posts: 158
Location: Austin, TX
Are you human?: 951
3 Mile Stone wrote:
The clean tones were just unbeleivable.


I could not agree more! I :inlove: the gain channel, but I honestly play on the clean channel just as much if not more!!!

This amp is everything I'd been looking for in the past 3 years.

Congrats on the new head! :rock:

_________________
Great deals with
strungup (trade)
dstroud


http://www.reverbnation.com/danielsalcido
http://tonefinder.com/index.php?search= ... &display=5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 8:27pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 31, 2009 11:18am
Posts: 42
Location: New York City
Are you human?: 951
What up guys? I'm another "tube noob" and a proud new Rebel 30 head owner (with a Tourmaster 2x12 cab). Definitely a sweet amp. Anyway, like I said, this is my first tube amp so I know pretty much nothing. On my head I'm noticing quite a volume drop-off between the EL84 side and the 6V6's. Is this an indication that the 6V6's aren't biased hot enough? The EL84's sound great and so do the 6V6's but they're just not as loud at the same volume setting and I've never noticed this on other Egnaters that I've played on. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Nov 05, 2009 11:02pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 25, 2008 12:50am
Posts: 158
Location: Austin, TX
Are you human?: 951
jdsjw13 wrote:
What up guys? I'm another "tube noob" and a proud new Rebel 30 head owner (with a Tourmaster 2x12 cab). Definitely a sweet amp. Anyway, like I said, this is my first tube amp so I know pretty much nothing. On my head I'm noticing quite a volume drop-off between the EL84 side and the 6V6's. Is this an indication that the 6V6's aren't biased hot enough? The EL84's sound great and so do the 6V6's but they're just not as loud at the same volume setting and I've never noticed this on other Egnaters that I've played on. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance


Definitely give Egnater a call. They are very helpful and have great customer service. 1-323-277-4119.

That said, I do NOT have that experience with my R30 combo. My volume stays consistent, just the tone changes. Maybe bad 6V6(s)???
:confused:

_________________
Great deals with
strungup (trade)
dstroud


http://www.reverbnation.com/danielsalcido
http://tonefinder.com/index.php?search= ... &display=5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Fri, Nov 06, 2009 10:24am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 28, 2009 10:03am
Posts: 19
Are you human?: 951
On my Rebel 30 I notice a slight but not major drop off in volume also. It is definitly louder on the el84 side. :confused:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sat, Nov 07, 2009 11:14pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
I'd go in and check the bias first. It could do that if it were a little off. No real differences in mine. I re-biased it after sticking in some JJ 6V6. One side was hotter than the other.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 7:15am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
I don't think this is actually a problem. On the Renegade I noticed it was loudest at 12 o'clock- I think because all 4 tubes are operating. When you shift to one side or the other I think you go down to some mix of 2 or 3 tubes, hence the volume is less.

Having said that, there is never any harm in re-biasing. It's a good idea to do it every now and again.

:rock:

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 9:43am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
Very true Len. I think what he is saying is the full on EL84 side is quieter than the full on 6V6 side. Which is also normal but it should not be very drastic at all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 11:29am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
I think the 6V6's have more output anyway. Again, I am not sure there is anything wrong here, but he might as well re-bias anyway.

:confused: :rock:

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 12:36pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
Yep, agreed. Mine was a little off. I put in the JJ 6V6 and then turned it on. I liked the way the Ruby EL84 sounded and I didn't have any options laying around so I left them. When I turned it and checked teh bias the EL84 side was a little hot, somewhere around 50, then I adjusted the new set of 6V6. All good.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 10:49pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 10:36pm
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
I wanted to check the bias on my Rebel 30 Head.

The photos showing the bias test points and trimpots on the combo are super helpful.

To access these on the head, do I have to slide the amp chassis out?

I'm guessing that it the four screws on the bottom that I need to remove to do that, right?

Alan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Nov 09, 2009 8:12am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 31, 2007 5:13pm
Posts: 1301
flakeygeek2000 wrote:
I wanted to check the bias on my Rebel 30 Head.

The photos showing the bias test points and trimpots on the combo are super helpful.

To access these on the head, do I have to slide the amp chassis out?

I'm guessing that it the four screws on the bottom that I need to remove to do that, right?

Alan



Correct Alan. That's how you do it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Nov 09, 2009 2:11pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 31, 2009 11:18am
Posts: 42
Location: New York City
Are you human?: 951
Thanks for the advice guys. I was actually saying that the volume is quieter on the "full on" 6V6 side than it is on the "full on" EL84 side....and yes, it is loudest at 12:00. It's not a huge volume drop off, in fact it is slight....it's just kind of annoying. When you turn up the volume on the 6V6 side the amp sounds great so I don't think that it is a problem with the actual tubes. That is why I thought that maybe they were just not biased the same or something.

Like I said, this is my first tube amp and I'm really interested in learning as much as I can. Do you guys have any links or resources to help me learn to check bias, re-bias, etc (other than the previous posts on this topic of course). It seems fairly simple once you know what you're doing. I just don't want to screw anything up with the amp or electrocute myself!! Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Nov 09, 2009 10:39pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Nov 08, 2009 10:36pm
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 20, 2010 9:27am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Apr 17, 2010 4:21pm
Posts: 42
Are you human?: 951
This looks so simple, I'd like to try doing it myself for my R30 head. My question is: I'm freaked out about all the "high voltage" warnings as far as removing the chassis. Which components in the chassis do I need to avoid touching to be safe? Is there anything exposed in there that will shock/kill me if I touch it accidentally?

This may seem like a dumb question to many of you, but I'm being serious. I'd really like to do this simple maintenance myself, but I want to be safe above all else.

Thanks for any help you can provide.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Tue, Apr 20, 2010 4:50pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
To be safe, all you need to do is unplug the amp from the wall and then let it sit about 30 minutes. That will make sure that all residual power is gone from it. You can touch anything at that point.

:rock:

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Apr 21, 2010 6:35am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Oct 21, 2009 8:51am
Posts: 47
Are you human?: 951
Leave the amp in the "on" position rather than "standby" and turn of the power switch on the backside of the amp. This should cause the caps to drain. Unplug the amp and if you want to play it safe, let it sit for 30 minutes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Apr 21, 2010 10:55pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Apr 17, 2010 4:21pm
Posts: 42
Are you human?: 951
Thanks for the help guys


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Apr 21, 2010 11:16pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Feb 18, 2009 11:38pm
Posts: 69
Really dumb question but I'm asking anyway...when you're biasing a Rebel 20 or 30, you do it with the power on, speaker(s) plugged in, guitar plugged in right? Or can you bias it while on standby? Or while it's off for that matter?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 22, 2010 11:52am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Apr 17, 2010 4:21pm
Posts: 42
Are you human?: 951
briguy73 wrote:
Really dumb question but I'm asking anyway...when you're biasing a Rebel 20 or 30, you do it with the power on, speaker(s) plugged in, guitar plugged in right? Or can you bias it while on standby? Or while it's off for that matter?


From what I've seen/read, the amp has to be on (not on standby), & must be plugged into a speaker. No instrument needs to be plugged in. Let the amp warm up for at least 5 minutes to get accurate readings. I've also read that channel volumes should be at zero, but not sure how important that is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 23, 2010 5:12pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Feb 18, 2009 11:38pm
Posts: 69
For the benefit of those who are a little gunshy opening up they're Rebel 30, biasing my Rebel 20 was a cakewalk. I'm not a techy gearhead by any stretch (just don't go pokin' around ANYWHERE other than the testpoints and you won't end up with hair like Rod Stewart) Went to the shack and picked up a digital multimeter for 20 bucks. Owned my Rebel 20 for about a year. Haven't swapped any tubes, still has stock JJ's in the power and soveteks in pre. Interestingly, when I checked the bias, BOTH the 84's and the 6V6's were a tad on the cool side...about about 36mv on the 84's and about 40 on the 6V6's. Makes me wonder if power tubes have a bit of a break-in period. Made the adjustment in a matter of moments and a great amp sounds even a little better. Thanks for this thread and all the help. Egnater rules!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 20, 2010 6:15am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 11, 2009 9:43pm
Posts: 27
Are you human?: 951
Is there any significant danger of getting electrocuted if I try to set the bias when swapping out power tubes?

Are there any extra precautions I should take?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 20, 2010 9:54am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Thu, Feb 25, 2010 10:17pm
Posts: 259
Location: Michigan
Are you human?: 951
gregrjones wrote:
Is there any significant danger of getting electrocuted if I try to set the bias when swapping out power tubes?

Are there any extra precautions I should take?



There is always significant danger when you put your hands in a live amp. My honest recommendation is that if you don't know exactly what you are doing, then have someone knowledgeable help you out.

_________________
http://www.egnateramps.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 25, 2010 6:52am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 11, 2009 9:43pm
Posts: 27
Are you human?: 951
If the amp has to be ON while checking the bias, then what is the point of draining the amp of extra voltage?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 25, 2010 7:04am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
You drain the voltage to swap the tubes and not kill yourself at the same time. Obviously, the amp has to be on to bias the tubes once they are in.

:rock:

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Jan 09, 2011 7:35am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Dec 11, 2009 9:43pm
Posts: 27
Are you human?: 951
Len, forgive me for being a little slow but I think you're saying turn off the amp, drain the voltage, swap the tubes, then turn on the amp to check the bias. Correct?

If so, then I guess I this means that if you turn on the amp and the bias is off, this won't damage the amp?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Sun, Jan 09, 2011 7:44am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
I am not an electrician, but yes that is what I am saying. I don't think the bias is ever "off." Do the power drain and tube swapping first. Turn the amp back on. Re-bias according to the instructions in the manual. There is no reason why a properly done re-biasing should damage an amp. It is a good thing to do every now and again even if you don't swap the the tubes because the bias can drift over time.

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 29, 2011 11:38am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011 11:30am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Hi guys...resurrecting an old thread. I'm a noob to biasing and just wanted some clarification.
Is this correct?
1 - Amp is on, no guitar plugged in
2 - touch middle TP1 with negative and either TP2 or TP3 with positive multimeter posts
(wasn't sure if this was the other way around)
3 - Adjust either TP2 or TP3 pot to 40V
The question is how do you adjust? do you turn by hand or use a flathead screwdriver in the middle of the Pot?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 29, 2011 3:04pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
Flat head screwdriver. Check the manual because you often have to have the knobs set certain ways since they can influence the bias readings.

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 29, 2011 3:10pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011 11:30am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Len Rabinowitz wrote:
Flat head screwdriver. Check the manual because you often have to have the knobs set certain ways since they can influence the bias readings.

Thanks Len...I appreciate the response!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Jun 06, 2012 8:45am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Jun 06, 2012 7:39am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
these biasing instructions are in the rebel 30 manual?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Wed, Jun 06, 2012 10:20pm 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 192
Are you human?: 951
No.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 07, 2012 1:24am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Sun, Aug 23, 2009 9:38pm
Posts: 363
Location: West Central Florida
Are you human?: 951
Are the Egnater amps cathode or fix biased?
All of the models, with the exception of the Tweaker, are fixed/adjustable bias with easy to use test points. Consult the owner’s manuals or contact support@egnateramps.com for information on how to properly adjust the bias. The Tweaker is cathode biased so there is no adjustment required when replacing tubes.

_________________
good deals with bwgintegra, tlingen, rupe, aeroic, Jesse James, dieselmx, Code001, Braciola


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New Rebel 30 tubes
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 07, 2012 2:33am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sat, Nov 26, 2011 10:59pm
Posts: 192
Are you human?: 951
The Tweaker 15 is Cathode biased, the Tweaker 40 is a fixed bias.

The Reb 30 bias instruction PDF was posted by Ian on another thread.
http://www.rig-talk.com/forum/download/file.php?id=14221


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use