Peavey 6505+ Cab Extreme Metal Pairing choices?

BryceJay7

Hey everyone I have a Peavey 6505+ and play Black/Stoner/Doom Metal in my band and currently run it through a Mesa Boogie Rectifier 4x12 Cab. I am looking to add another 4x12 to make it a full stack and was wondering if I should fatten up my tone by adding either a Marshall 1960 Cab or an Orange PPC412 instead of just another Mesa Boogie Cab? Also how would I set this up OHM wise out of my head? This is my first time running a full stack. Also if you have any other suggestions on a cab that would be a great pairing it would be greatly appreciated.

-Bryce

Man, to me the 6505 sounds best with a Rectifier cab. I would just get another one imo. So stock Mesa cabs are 8 ohms. To run 2 you would run the amp at 4 ohms.

I had a Orange PPC212 with when I had a 6505+. The 2x12 was surprising at the amount of low end it had. It was pretty directional sound projection wise.

Also could I even run my Mesa cab and an Orange cab together? The Mesa is an 8 ohm and the Orange is a 16 ohm. How many ohm's would I set my head to?

BryceJay7":l50ym4b5 said:
Also could I even run my Mesa cab and an Orange cab together? The Mesa is an 8 ohm and the Orange is a 16 ohm. How many ohm's would I set my head to?
I wouldn't. One cab will sound like crap.
You're second cab needs to be 8 ohms.

swamptrashstompboxes":1erbni21 said:
Throw a pair of k85's or K100's in there. Instant boom.

Or EVM12L's

Are there any cab companies that come with those speakers with them already in there? I could get one And run it parallel with my Mesa cab

BryceJay7":2eu4flty said:
swamptrashstompboxes":2eu4flty said:

Or EVM12L's

Are there any cab companies that come with those speakers with them already in there? I could get one And run it parallel with my Mesa cab

The old Peavey Butcher and some of the VTM cabs came stock with G12K85s. I've owned one of each. Currently I have a Peavey MC 2x12 with G12K85s.

Tronald Dump":1dsitx63 said: