Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Mar 29, 2020 4:07pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri, May 30, 2014 8:40am 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 29, 2012 12:17pm
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
Would it be possible to compile a Linux Remote version (Ubuntu 14.04) ?
I posted this message on the french guitariste.com's forum but hope some more success here ;)

Should be so great !!

Deeply Yours .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Jun 01, 2014 11:25am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Well, once a year I get that request, and once a year my answer is: try the Windows application with Wine, because we do not have ressources to put on a Linux version. ;)

Porting the Remote to Linux is a huge work, and so far I don't see any market for this. I may be wrong, but I don't think so. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Jun 01, 2014 1:09pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 29, 2012 12:17pm
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
Well, once a year I get that request
Now that you say that, yes I'm sorry already saw that ... :( Sorry. But my experience with wine has never been sucessfull ...
guillaume_pille wrote:
Porting the Remote to Linux is a huge work
Didn't know that as you already program for Osx
I though this was not a so huge task ...

Anyway thanks for answer.
Yours .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Jun 02, 2014 11:41am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Quote:
though this was not a so huge task ...


The distance between a standard Linux distribution and OSX is H U G E. ^^

I should have a dedicated team on that, and even if the geek inside me would love to announce a Linux version, I know it's better if we give new toys to the people using Windows and Mac OSX, which is already a lot of work. And I can't imagine giving support for all the Linux distributions as a new one is born every day. ^^

Or I should have a team of geek interns on Linux. ^^

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, May 03, 2015 12:25pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, May 03, 2015 12:09pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
Quote:
though this was not a so huge task ...


The distance between a standard Linux distribution and OSX is H U G E. ^^

I should have a dedicated team on that, and even if the geek inside me would love to announce a Linux version, I know it's better if we give new toys to the people using Windows and Mac OSX, which is already a lot of work. And I can't imagine giving support for all the Linux distributions as a new one is born every day. ^^

Or I should have a team of geek interns on Linux. ^^


Aujourd'hui je suis ingénieur généraliste avec une bonne culture du dev logiciel et de GNU/Linux mais... En tant qu'étudiant, comme j'aurais aimé lire cette dernière phrase! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, May 04, 2015 1:27am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
If you don't mind tenSe we will stick to English here .;)

Well, its not only about compiling a Linux version, but maintaining it and offering a new one every time we release an update. That is some serious work. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, May 04, 2015 6:46am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, May 03, 2015 12:09pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
If you don't mind tenSe we will stick to English here .;)

Well, its not only about compiling a Linux version, but maintaining it and offering a new one every time we release an update. That is some serious work. ;)


Sure, I'll write in English only from now on.

The decision is quite easy to understand: the demand of a GNU/Linux version of Remote is not huge enough, compared to the resource it takes to develop and maintain such a piece of software.
It is sad though, since there are some really nice products, like Ardour3 and Cadence, which allow advanced music processing with GNU/Linux.

... I might try running Remote with WINE in the near future (if I don't spend all my spare time playing with the new Arcade mode and the CAB reverbs :D ). I'll let you know if I can get it to work.

Have a nice day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, May 06, 2015 4:36pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, May 03, 2015 12:09pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Sadly enough, it does not work :(.
Remote starts and does not find my CAB.
When I plug the USB cable, the kernel sees the CAB (dmesg displays all my CAB's infos), but Remote does not seem to be aware of it.

I wish it could work :D.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, May 08, 2015 12:42am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Remote uses some information from the computer to identify you. In that regard, Windows and Linux do not work the same, but we have in mind to change that in future versions.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Mar 13, 2020 4:59am 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 13, 2020 4:53am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
Remote uses some information from the computer to identify you. In that regard, Windows and Linux do not work the same, but we have in mind to change that in future versions.


Yes, this is a long dead topic ... but I'm thinking about buying the Revv D20, which hosts the Torpedo CAB and I'm exclusive on Linux on all my systems. The D20 lacks wireless connectivity, so Android/iPhone is out of the question.

Will I be able to run the remote software on Linux/Wine? Did anyone try it on a less-ideal VirtualBox Windows environment?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Mar 16, 2020 11:35am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
MrHaroldA I have no idea if the latest remote with D20 works on Linux with Wine, virtual Box will work though but I know it's a bit of a pain.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Mar 16, 2020 2:49pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 13, 2020 4:53am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
MrHaroldA I have no idea if the latest remote with D20 works on Linux with Wine, virtual Box will work though but I know it's a bit of a pain.

Well, I bought a D20 today, so let's find out in the somewhere in the near future ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Mar 17, 2020 8:31am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 2043
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Great, keep us posted!

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use