Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Wed, Dec 19, 2018 3:39am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: C.A.B. Overload question
PostPosted: Tue, Jul 04, 2017 10:38am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jul 04, 2017 10:03am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
I just received my C.A.B. and am using it with ADA MP-1 pre-amp. I am then going into the PA.

I was testing out the C.A.B. presets with one MP-1 preset. I noticed that some CAB presets had the CLIP LED come on while others seemed fine. Again the signal coming out of the MP-1 never changed.

The input switch was set to LINE. What could have caused the CLIP to come on on some CAB presets but not others? I don't seem to be hearing any digital distortion when the CLIP light does come on, but I wasn't using the cleanest setting on the MP-1!

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Jul 04, 2017 11:29am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Tue, Jul 25, 2006 6:10pm
Posts: 755
Location: St-Sauveur, Canada
the overload indicator is indeed affected by input level but is also dependant of the patch parameters that may aggregate to cause clipping. You may try reducing the preamp output level to make even the most sensitive patch not clip or better yet, find the level that makes the majority of the patches sound best (and not clip) and then go and edit and resave the offending patches in the CAB. Since the CAB can be used with so many devices on the market, there's no way to pre-program every last patch to be 100% clip proof... Once you get a handle on the edit and store process, you'll have all this fixed in no time.

Inside each patch, the suspects would be a) power amp sim volume b) eq if bands have exaggerated boosts, c) the patch output level.

The CAB also has a global output level and you should start with taht at or around 0dB

_________________
Andy

www.diffusion-audio.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 05, 2017 7:02am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jul 04, 2017 10:03am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 05, 2017 10:49am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1864
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
It would be interesting to know before anything if it's the input or the output clipping. It is written on the CAB display when it's happening.

The overload indicator is quite conservative, you'll have to push it VERY hard to hear distortion.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Nov 08, 2017 9:59am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 07, 2017 12:43am
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Hi Guillaume. Mine's also clipping. My signa path is: pedalboard > amp> line out from power soak/attenuator>DI>CAB. Is there a setting in the device where the unit can accept speaker level signal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Nov 08, 2017 11:07am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1864
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
If you want to deal with signal level you need to upgrade to our bigger units, Torpedo Live or studio, or buy a Captor and feed its signal into the CAB.

If the CAB is clipping at the input, switch its input to LINE, and lower the level of the power soak, or find a DI with a PAD. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use