Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Tue, Oct 16, 2018 2:48pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 11, 2017 3:13am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Nov 30, 2016 12:42am
Posts: 53
Are you human?: 951
First a disclaimer...I am a noob when it comes to recording or mixing. :D

So, I have the shiny new MOTU 828es interface-mixer and I send line outs from my 2 Torpedo Live units at 0dB to MOTU inputs. However on the MOTU the levels show up as -12dB, and I am not doing any trims or pading at all.

Is this normal or am I missing something here? I know that I should send -6dB from Live but then signal is really low on the MOTU...or is this the way it is and I have to boost it in the mixer?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 11, 2017 3:50am 
Offline
Journeyman NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 18, 2014 12:14pm
Posts: 173
Are you human?: 951
Hello,

"dB" is not an absolute unit, it's relative, so you can't compare the output of a device and the input of another in dB. If you want an absolute unit, look for dBu. This is indicated in the user manual of the Live : http://wiki.two-notes.com/doku.php?id=t ... nical_data

Plus, do you mean:
- you set the Output Level parameter of the Live at 0dB, or
- the signal goes to 0dB on the output bargraph, in the Remote software ?

There is a huge difference between the two. The first one is a gain setting (0dB means the signal is unaffected), the second one is a level indicator (the signal is at 0dB. Actually, 0dBFS).

You have several ways of boosting the signal. The general idea would be to go out of the Live as loud as possible (but without clipping, the -6dB headroom you are talking about is a good starting point, but you could have more), and set the input sensitivity (input level) of the MOTU so this gives you a comfortable level in the DAW. If you have level settings, pads, sensitivity switch, you could try them.

But in any case, having an input signal at -12dB is actually perfectly ok :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 11, 2017 3:53am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Nov 30, 2016 12:42am
Posts: 53
Are you human?: 951
Hey, thanks for the reply.

The 0dB I talk about is the live out setting...but I haven't checked the output meter in the Remote though. Anyways, as I mentioned total noob here so was just wondering if there is something wrong with my signal levels...but it seems all good then. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 11, 2017 7:09pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Jan 23, 2015 12:48am
Posts: 21
Location: Los Angeles
Are you human?: 951
Yes you're fine. 0dB on the output of the Live is fine. Next you would adjust the input gain on you MOTU. However anywhere between -18dB to -12dB will be good for MOTU input.

If you are a new to all of this, I highly recommend you spend a few hours researching and learning online. Concepts like dBs, gain staging, adjusting input gain, 0dB, dBv, dBu, balanced connectcions, unbalanced connections, etc etc is not something which can be taught in a short little post here. Trust me, the time you spend looking this stuff up and learning it will be worth it.

I spent a long time learning and learning online about all of this stuff. It made something like the Torpedo Live a breeze to use. In fact I told the guys at Two Notes I was very impressed with the quality of the Live as output was balanced Line Level.

_________________
www.williamrustrum.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use