Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Fri, May 29, 2020 11:54pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri, May 15, 2020 9:01am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, May 15, 2020 8:30am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
I'm confused... I've watched the setup vids on YouTube and the people are using only a USB and then running the Line Out of the TL into their DAW. But in the manual, there is the pic below which is USB and S/PDIF, but no guitar cable from the TL to the input of the DAW. So I have mine set up w/ USB and S/PDIF, but it definitely sounds "off".

So I'll run a guitar cord from Line Out into my DAW, but should I do away w/ the S/PDIF? Also, my DAW has inputs for Line Level and Instrument Level. Which input should I use?

Thanks!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, May 15, 2020 9:06am 
Offline
Rock God Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Thu, Sep 04, 2008 9:14am
Posts: 4837
Are you human?: 951
I usually use the analog outs anyway so I can run it into an external preamp fro color, but the digital S/PDIF should work. Check your settings on both ends, such as 24bit 44.1? If they are not in sync with your DAW session that will sound awful.

_________________
https://www.reverbnation.com/flatearthriot


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, May 15, 2020 10:45am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, May 15, 2020 8:30am
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
crankyrayhanky wrote:
I usually use the analog outs anyway so I can run it into an external preamp fro color, but the digital S/PDIF should work. Check your settings on both ends, such as 24bit 44.1? If they are not in sync with your DAW session that will sound awful.


Thanks. I tweaked the settings and have it sounding good, but I'm getting some undesirable clicks/pops. They're subtle, but noticeable. The Torpedo Live can operate at 48 and 96 sampling rates, but only sounds good at 48 w/ my setup - no biggie. But no matter what I change my buffer to, I still get the clicks/pops.

Hopefully that will go away w/ the analog hookup. I'm using Bandlab as my DAW and a PreSonus AudioBox 1818vsl which has been discontinued so there are no new updates. Maybe it's time to upgrade to a new interface.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use