Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Thu, Jul 16, 2020 8:46am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed, Jun 10, 2020 9:12pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Jun 10, 2020 8:52pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Sorry if this comes through twice! How to use Captor X live with only Amp/Cab (no PA line) and still use tracker reverb etc?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 18, 2020 6:26am 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Apr 27, 2020 4:31am
Posts: 23
Location: Devon, England
Are you human?: 951
The DSP element of the Captor X only comes out of the DI outputs, not the cabinet outputs.

_________________
Jason Wilding
Director of Marketing
www.two-notes.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 18, 2020 1:52pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Thu, Jul 14, 2011 11:43pm
Posts: 18
Are you human?: 951
You can re-amp it live through a power amp and FRFR and/or send it to the FOH system. So the cheapest route for a "no PA" like you are asking about would be get a couple powered monitors to become your two wet cabs. Or possibly just one (but then no stereo) to just use the correct XLR out that has the 'twinned' track on it to get the effect of a second guitar player. Although I'm not sure that would come across compared to the two XLR outputs contrasting to each other you would have your regular guitar cab contrasting with the one DI output...might not deliver the same effect to the listener without the same-but-different reference sound.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 18, 2020 7:25pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Jun 10, 2020 8:52pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
Great thanks for the information!
Would XLR to TRS converters, then into 2 cabs work? Or 1 stereo cab?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 18, 2020 7:37pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Jun 10, 2020 8:52pm
Posts: 6
Are you human?: 951
So It would need to be TS, but there would be a cable issue running straight into passive cabs?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Jun 23, 2020 5:24pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Thu, Jul 14, 2011 11:43pm
Posts: 18
Are you human?: 951
The XLR output/s of the CaptorX are not 'amplified' signal that can power a passive cabinet or monitor the way the speaker output is.
It is line level output and needs amplification of some sort before it can go to a passive cabinet.
A powered cabinet refers to a cab/monitor with a built in power amp module so line level output works in a powered cabinet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use