Rig-Talk
https://www.rig-talk.com/forum/

How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?
https://www.rig-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=211265
Page 1 of 1

Author:  captainx [ Wed, Jun 10, 2020 9:12pm ]
Post subject:  How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

Sorry if this comes through twice! How to use Captor X live with only Amp/Cab (no PA line) and still use tracker reverb etc?

Author:  Jason Wilding [ Thu, Jun 18, 2020 6:26am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

The DSP element of the Captor X only comes out of the DI outputs, not the cabinet outputs.

Author:  Enchilada Jones [ Thu, Jun 18, 2020 1:52pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

You can re-amp it live through a power amp and FRFR and/or send it to the FOH system. So the cheapest route for a "no PA" like you are asking about would be get a couple powered monitors to become your two wet cabs. Or possibly just one (but then no stereo) to just use the correct XLR out that has the 'twinned' track on it to get the effect of a second guitar player. Although I'm not sure that would come across compared to the two XLR outputs contrasting to each other you would have your regular guitar cab contrasting with the one DI output...might not deliver the same effect to the listener without the same-but-different reference sound.

Author:  captainx [ Thu, Jun 18, 2020 7:25pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

Great thanks for the information!
Would XLR to TRS converters, then into 2 cabs work? Or 1 stereo cab?

Author:  captainx [ Thu, Jun 18, 2020 7:37pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

So It would need to be TS, but there would be a cable issue running straight into passive cabs?

Author:  Enchilada Jones [ Tue, Jun 23, 2020 5:24pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Use the Captor X effects with only an amp/cab ?

The XLR output/s of the CaptorX are not 'amplified' signal that can power a passive cabinet or monitor the way the speaker output is.
It is line level output and needs amplification of some sort before it can go to a passive cabinet.
A powered cabinet refers to a cab/monitor with a built in power amp module so line level output works in a powered cabinet.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/