Help with power handling question...

Meeotch

So I've been running my Herbert (180w) through a 4x12 with Greenbacks (100w) and everything seems fine so far. I have read unofficially that unless you are cranking the amp, it's not producing anywhere near it's rated power spec.

However, a fairly credible source recently told me that even with the amp's volume on minimum, the load is still seeing at least 60% of the amp's power rating. That would mean the Herbert is putting out 108w minimum...but again everything seems fine so far. Am I just getting lucky?

No.

Speakers blow for many reasons but what you're doing is fine. You can blow a speaker with a 10 watt amp just as easily as your 180 watt amp under the right circumstance. With lots of power, you can break the speaker with it being push too hard and it separates the voice coil whereas with too low power, you will heat the coil and fuse it. I have some experience with both types. Power rating and sensitivity are not a standard and the manufacturer sets the parameter by which the speaker is tested.

If you think in terms of a car engine and horse power, a V4 pushed hard or a V8 with power to spare is kind of a similar idea.

Ok I think I'm following you, but I'm still confused about a couple things:

1) is it true that as you turn up an amp's volume, the load will see more watts? If so is there any reasonable way to estimate how much the load is seeing in respect to the amp's volume knob?

2) Even though manufacturers have different standards of testing these parameters, it seems like most people still adhere to the protocol of never overpowering your load (as I am doing, I just thought I would be safe as long as I'm not cranking the amp)

Thanks for the help!

I am not a speaker expert (really I should just keep my mouth shut...) but I personally don't over power more than 20%. I read that somewhere and have always stuck to it.