Home Recording Studio

MonsterTone

Banned
So I’m wanting to start making some decent quality recordings of my original material to show to potential band members. I’m looking to build a decent studio in my home.

Besides the computer, what equipment would you recommend to start with? I know I’ll need the interface, DAW, mics, mixer, etc. Could someone potentially make me a list of items you would recommend for me to get started with?

What kind of budget would get one a studio that could make some decent-to-solid recordings? Not wanting to spend too much if I don’t have to. But I don’t want to skimp on quality. It obviously won’t be Michael Wagener level, but I was wanting to build a typical, affordable home studio that is capable of good recordings worthy of sharing with people.

I’m going to be playing every instrument and producing the recordings myself (guitar, bass, drums). Production is something I’ve got no experience at. I’m learning this as I go.

Note: I’m going to use electronic drums, so please recommend a good e-drum kit. I’ve read that you don’t need to have a high dollar kit, so what’s a good kit for $200-$500? I was hoping there may be some good e-kits with more of that “acoustic” feel, but if there’s none in that price range no worries. Also, what is the best electronic drum recording software for the price?

Anything else you would suggest, please share!

Hey MT,

Any electronic kit that you feel triggers accurately-enough for you using its sound module / brain will do. You can record its MIDI output from the brain and use that to play a decent drum VI (like SSD5 - best-value IMHO). The aforementioned one, as well as most others, have ready-made templates for mapping the various edrum configurations so the correct instruments play when you live-trigger or just use the VI to render what you've played with decent sounds.