Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Mon, Sep 16, 2019 10:16pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 05, 2019 1:36pm 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 30, 2014 2:23pm
Posts: 11
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
Thank you guys, we're close to the final version and we'll release a 32 bits and older versions of Windows after the Holidays. ;)


Thank you for doing this for us. The two mic update is a great improvement! I have a couple of suggestions and a question for the Remote 5.0 software in Simulation mode:

1. I would suggest making the picture of the cabinet larger, the studio "background" picture smaller, and also making the knobs/switches/etc all a bit larger.
2. I would also suggest adding a picture of a speaker with the cap, cone, cone edge, etc being visible and show how the mics move in relation to that image That way, users could see ideally where the mics are being positioned on the speaker itself.
3. I notice that saving presets does not allow for entering in your own preset name. I assume this will work in the full version?

Also...I realize the current Remote 5.0 software is in Alpha stage, but occasionally I am getting a random sound issue where everything sounds like it's being run through a "bit crusher" effect. It happens when I click on any random item (a mic, a slider, etc). The only way to stop it is to turn off the Torpedo Live completely and turn it back on again. I've entered a support ticket for this, but wanted to mention it here for the benefit of the other users.

Thank you again!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sun, Jan 13, 2019 10:23am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jan 01, 2019 3:56pm
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
Any update on release date?

As a bit of background, I purchased a UA Ox in November and loved the software, but didn't like the sound. Using my Mesa TA-30 head, there was what sounded like input distortion on all settings. I thought I must have gotten a bad Ox, so I exchanged it, but the second unit had exactly the same issue. So I returned the Ox for a refund and purchased a Torpedo CAB instead (gotta love Sweetwater's customer support). Using the CAB in combination with my old MiniMass attenuator gives me the silent practice and recording solution I was looking for with the Ox, but without the Ox's annoying audio artifacts. The only thing I miss relative to the Ox is the ability to double mic. So I'm thrilled to see an update is in the works, and I'm anxiously awaiting the release date. :rock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Jan 16, 2019 10:47am 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Jul 09, 2017 7:54am
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
Hi!
Yesterday I made update.
No problem so far!

Today I'll try the Torpedo CAB with my Headrush pedalboard.

Agree with suggestions of @torp42. My suggestion besides these: when 2 mics are used, the pictures of each should be on left side and side of the cab to see them better.

I use WOS with my old POD Farm 2.5 vst and sounds incredible!
I hope the sound of my Headrush improves with Torpedo CAB.

Sorry for my english, I'm from Argentina.
Best regards!
Pato.

Edit: and please, 2 cabs for Torpedo CAB!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Jan 16, 2019 4:23pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Thank you guys for the suggestions, JC you can already update, the Alpha 8 is very stable and the firmware is really good now.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Mon, Jan 21, 2019 4:03pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee
User avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 11, 2015 1:30pm
Posts: 717
Location: Jerkovski, on the Dutch-Polish border...
Are you human?: 951
Hi Guillaume,

just did the Alpha 8 update and I'm getting constant 'Unable to get IR Data from the Torpedo, invalid data checksum' messages. Any idea why?

My Torpedo Live is registered and everything, and I couldn't find any related topics in your Knowledge base.

Also, when I click away these error messages, I do see the updated Remote, but Mic B is 'stuck' to 'Knightfall', blacked out.

Running Win7, 64 bit. FYI.

_________________
Amps:
Engl InVader 100 + Engl 4x12 Pro cab
Engl Ironball
Engl Savage 60 + Two Notes Torpedo Live
Engl e670 Special Edition EL34 + HB 212V cab (G12K85 +V30)
EVH 5150 III 50W + Mesa Boogie 2x12 Vertical Slant cab
Fender '74 Princeton Reverb (w/ Eminence Legend 105-8)
Marshall Lead 100 MOSFET + 1966A & 1966B cabs
Mesa Boogie Mark V:25 + Mesa 1x12 Thiele EVM cab
Roland Jazz Chorus JC-55 combo & JC-120H head
Axes:
Burny Les Paul (3x), Charvel So-Cal, Epiphone Wildkat, ESP Horizon NT-II, Fender '68 RI Strat, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, G&L ASAT Classic Tribute, Ibanez S540FM & Kramer SM-1 Guitars


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, Jan 24, 2019 3:16am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Jun 30, 2018 5:17am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
my god!
Thanks to the Internet blockade, my software download repeatedly but are modified and destruction, just in the process of the upgrade, all data is lost and can't start, always display the boot error and system error 175 and so on, also good successfully repaired at the moment.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Mon, Feb 04, 2019 4:57am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Hi guys,

if you are stuck with a unit that don't want to play with you, please contact our help Desk and the devs will give you a way to erase and restart the unit.

http://support.two-notes.com/

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, Feb 07, 2019 4:33am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB

Joined: Wed, Jan 28, 2015 10:59am
Posts: 51
Are you human?: 951
Where can we get any info on what the new firmaware offers? Is it the same latency as before? Any change in the eq section? Any new features? Don´t wanna update before I am 100% certain it is better than the last firmware due the loss of all my presets when updating. How will the 3:d party ir be affected? The IR will have a longer tail now right? will this affect the .tur files as well?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, Feb 07, 2019 11:39am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Hi Bigshredder,

all the topics are addressed on the FB forum and I will publish the whole new specs when we shoot the release next week. ;)

The update makes a backup of your presets but I always recommend doing one priori to any backup, just in case.

IRs and .tur are now 40ms instead of 18.9 (with a very slight increase in latency, I think from 1.9 to 2.2ms), Two notes virtual cabinets are also processed in 40ms. new semi-parametric EQ (compatible with the old one), new interface on the unit and remote.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Tue, Feb 12, 2019 4:13pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Feb 12, 2019 4:07pm
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Hi -

Only just stumbled on the news about the firmware and Remote update. Kudos for the effort - sounds like a major rewrite :-)

Just curious on where to get info and access for those without a Facebook account?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Feb 13, 2019 3:53am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Feb 13, 2019 3:00am
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
Just as a heads up, there seems to be a bug where - when you select 40ms for the IR format - you'll get an error 20 or whatever and have to press edit on torpedo cab if you drag over 64 IRs to the user bank. You have probably have heard this elsewhere but thought I'd post about it.

Very excited with this update, though I'm curious: how do you set mic b or IR b via midi cc? I have a little web app i wrote to control various aspects of my rig including torpedo cab using midi events generated with webmidi and want to add in the second mic/user ir option to it. I'm still able to control the first mic and ir still so those don't seem to have changed.

Edit: It actually kinda seems like torpedo cab only correctly responds to the midi cc for setting the mode and cab/ir used once and then stops responding the midi cc event until you change the cab on torpedo cab or in the remote software. After its reset in the editor it responds to my midi event one more time before not responding again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, Feb 14, 2019 4:19pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
Hi Bigshredder,

all the topics are addressed on the FB forum and I will publish the whole new specs when we shoot the release next week. ;)



What did it mean actually, Guillaume? Are we in for final release this week? Or just Beta?


Last edited by DrV on Thu, Feb 21, 2019 5:35am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 15, 2019 3:01am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
I will know more today, we found a few (minor) bugs and I want them to be fixed prior to shoot any news about the release.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 15, 2019 1:15pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
It's on, you can download it here!

https://www.two-notes.com/downloads

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sat, Feb 16, 2019 2:50am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Sun, Feb 15, 2009 1:29pm
Posts: 346
guillaume_pille wrote:
It's on, you can download it here!

https://www.two-notes.com/downloads


Merci beaucoup Guillaume and engineers!

FYI all, you need to update from FW 3.32 I believe as my first try failed when I tried from FW 3.1 or so. The fix for the bricked CAB was to power up the CAB in manual update mode by holding the edit button when powering up, then using Remote 4.x to update to FW 3.32, and finally using Remote 5.x beta to update the FW to 4.x beta (this via Win 7 64bit).

Saving presets from Remote 5/x beta doesn't seem to be implemented yet, but the dual mics and parametric EQ with HPF is a powerful addition, and my Marshall preamp was loving the heck out of the new firmware on a quick test.

Can't wait to spend some more time with it, and to try it with my Axe FX II along with it's new Aeres 1.0 FW too, thanks all!


Last edited by djd100 on Sat, Feb 16, 2019 4:54pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sat, Feb 16, 2019 5:33am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
Hell yeah! Finally! Thanks a lot, guys, for all the hard work. It's time for test drive, I guess, ha ha! :))


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Tue, Feb 19, 2019 11:56pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2019 11:49pm
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Hey Guys
Could someone tell me the current Microphones list!?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Feb 20, 2019 12:37pm 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
There are different sets of mics for each captured cabinet. You need to look at it yourself.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Feb 20, 2019 2:13pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2019 11:49pm
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Ok, i thought there is something like a list of all Microphones we can use since version 5.0.2.

@DrV Thanks anyway


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Feb 20, 2019 8:45pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Jun 30, 2018 5:17am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
so cool!i tried it,and so amazing sound!
Unfortunately, the device itself can not provide a true separation of left and right channels, if appear a player can teach me how to set-up of circuit board, that is even worse! I listen to many Chinese understand electronic musicians said equipment itself with the material is not the most upscale, do not know to have one to internal electronic components to upgrade and calibrated?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Feb 20, 2019 11:48pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Feb 12, 2019 4:07pm
Posts: 2
Are you human?: 951
Very cool. Downloaded and had a quick play.

Kudos to Two Notes for bringing new functionality like this to existing customers. I was quite happy with the idea of a single mic back when I bought my CAB, but lately I've been pre-mixing and uploading IRs to get the sounds I want. This makes getting the sound right much faster, whether with 3rd party IRs or with the Two Notes cab sims.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, Feb 21, 2019 5:18am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
Ice-edge, Torpedo hardware is not meant to be stereo, except Torpedo Studio. You can't get right and left channel from it, only mono, because stereo requires doubling the circuit. It means that for double mono signal you need two separate units and for true stereo - two separate units and panoraming or phase shifter. Proper ways to make true stereo from mono don't exist.

Oh, output jacks are stereo, indeed, but it's used for balanced connection only.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 22, 2019 6:55am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Connectors are not mono or stereo, the signal that goes through it, yes. ;)

The connectors are TRS jacks, that can carry a mono balanced signal.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Fri, Feb 22, 2019 7:22am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
That's right, it's just a local slang we use here - TS are mono and TRS are stereo. :))) It's clear that TRS is multipurpose - it can carry stereo signal, balanced mono or unbalanced mono and TS can carry only unbalanced mono.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sat, Feb 23, 2019 1:53pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Yes it's the same everywhere actually, same when guitarists call a tone "dynamic" when it's actually compressed to death. ^^

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Sun, Feb 24, 2019 7:25am 
Offline
Apprentice NOOB
User avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 03, 2017 6:24am
Posts: 64
Are you human?: 951
Haha! Yes, they just confuse dynamics with touch sensitivity. :yes:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Wed, Mar 06, 2019 9:25am 
Offline
Hack
User avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 06, 2019 9:13am
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
Hello, I updated to 5 beta 1 and then 2 lately. I'd like to ask If some kind of emulation engine has been changed?
I use on-board cabinets simulations and when I installed beta firmware I can hear kind of "fuzz" when sound deceases when palm muting on high-gain amplifiers. It does not happen with Third Party IRs and happens with every guitar. I will try to give sound sample later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 19, 2019 4:10am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Jun 30, 2018 5:17am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
Hello, everyone, because recently inconvenience connected to the computer, in the process of debugging, I found that seems to be in the front panel, I've been unable to find a built-in IR files stored in the device, do you find a way to load it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Mon, Apr 22, 2019 2:44am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1962
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Quote:
Hello, I updated to 5 beta 1 and then 2 lately. I'd like to ask If some kind of emulation engine has been changed?


Nope. Please share files with us.

Quote:
Hello, everyone, because recently inconvenience connected to the computer, in the process of debugging, I found that seems to be in the front panel, I've been unable to find a built-in IR files stored in the device, do you find a way to load it?


Sorry brother I don't understand the question. :/

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Mon, Apr 22, 2019 9:14pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Jun 30, 2018 5:17am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
Quote:
Hello, everyone, because recently inconvenience connected to the computer, in the process of debugging, I found that seems to be in the front panel, I've been unable to find a built-in IR files stored in the device, do you find a way to load it?


Sorry brother I don't understand the question. :/[/quote]



I'm sorry, the last message I was use computer for translation,and I forgot check it
Recently, because of the small tour, I didn't take my computer. I found that, in past, I can use the TNL front control panel to load my IR files(which was stored in my gear already), but after the upgrade I can`t load my IR file right now,maybe my operation have mistake, please teach me,how to load IR files without computer now,thank you!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, May 02, 2019 2:47pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Sun, Feb 15, 2009 1:29pm
Posts: 346
You likely have to reload all cabs and IR's via computer after upgrading?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Thu, May 02, 2019 3:58pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Trainee

Joined: Sun, Feb 15, 2009 1:29pm
Posts: 346
BTW, finally back to using my CAB post upgrade and great job Guillaume and crew, the CAB simply sounds great with the new features, Merci!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Double-miking update
PostPosted: Mon, May 13, 2019 10:03pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Jun 30, 2018 5:17am
Posts: 14
Are you human?: 951
So amazing sound!I love it so much!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use