Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Oct 13, 2019 6:47pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu, Jan 16, 2014 6:59pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jun 12, 2012 11:02am
Posts: 7
Are you human?: 951
I have a Renegade head and channel 1 has about 1/10th the volume of channel 2 with the controls set identically between the 2 channels. Channel 2 sounds about like what I'd expect from an amp of that power while channel, 1 has very low volume for an amp of this power.

Any ideas on what the likely culprit is?

Thanks.

JM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 17, 2014 6:01am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
First thought is to check the power tubes. Put in some new ones if you have spares, or maybe switch them around and see if the problem reverses? Just a thought. Also- do you have the tube mix dead center on both channels? That actually impacts output volume.

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 17, 2014 12:52pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Jun 12, 2012 11:02am
Posts: 7
Are you human?: 951
Len,

Thanks for your response.

I'll preface by saying I don't understand how these things work nearly as well as I'd like to, but wouldn't it have to be something in the path prior to the power tubes?

My thinking is that the power tubes are "shared equally" by both channels, while the pre-amp tubes are more used individually by each respective channel. So, if it were the power tubes, I'd expect it to affect both channels. Perhaps I'm mistaken.

Per the tube layout diagram published on the Egnater website, it seems V2 might perhaps be the likely culprit.

http://www.egnateramps.com/download/RenegadeTubeChart.pdf

Or am I misunderstanding something? (And what, pray tell, is the "B" side of V1 used for, inquiring minds want to know....)

I have ALL the controls on both channels set to the "12 O'Clock" position, including the tube mix.

JM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 18, 2014 12:20pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 24, 2008 7:16am
Posts: 1517
Location: Vulcan
You may be correct- I don't know. Output problems are often the output tubes. No harm in swapping out V2 and see what happens.

_________________
Len

Custom Classic Maple V-Neck Stratocaster
Antique Natural 335
2005 Les Paul Standard
2003 American Ash Special Fender Telecaster
Martin D Carpathian Custom
Taylor 314ce
Mesa 5:50 1x12 combo
Mesa 5:25 Express Plus Head
Dr. Z 2x12 cabinet
Roland Octacapture
Fender Mexican Jazz Bass
Eventide H9
Pigtronix Mothership
Boss Slicer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 03, 2015 10:33pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Apr 03, 2015 10:23pm
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
Was this issue resolved? I am having the same problem. Tubes are working. Voltages are correct. I can't figure it out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 04, 2015 11:33am 
Offline
Egnater Amplification

Joined: Fri, Sep 08, 2006 10:17pm
Posts: 910
What have you guys done so far to troubleshoot? Can be as simple as a bad preamp tube.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 04, 2015 6:31pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Apr 03, 2015 10:23pm
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
Tubes have been tested and all work. I ran a signal generator through the amp and got a good strong signal until before C16 and R21. Those two connect to V2 pin 2. That had a weak signal. I replaced both the resistor and capacitor just now and it still does the same thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Apr 06, 2015 8:25pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
same thing here too.
yes first thing replaced was V1a/V1b, V2a/V2b with new Tungsol's and replace V5a/V5b and V6a/b with know goods
(yes I know that 5&6 are shared with channel 2 but hey I could)
didn't replace anything in channel2.

Channel 2 on volume 3 (out of 10) is way louder than channel 1 on volume 8 (of 10)

that's as far as I've taken it.
got any ideas for me to try?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Apr 06, 2015 11:04pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Apr 03, 2015 10:23pm
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
I am out of ideas with this one. I did a signal trace and noticed a HUGE volume drop right before the Grid of V2 which is pin 2. I can't find the source of where the sound is escaping. All other caps and resistors are working and check out according to my meter. I know it has to be a problem with V2, but I don't know what or where.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Apr 08, 2015 2:18pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
Just a thought (looking at the schematic)
if you're getting a good signal to C16/R21.. what if R22 was sending too much signal to ground?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 09, 2015 11:08am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Apr 03, 2015 10:23pm
Posts: 4
Are you human?: 951
I have checked R22. It measures perfectly at 220Kohms. I realize something is going on there, but I am not sure what.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 24, 2015 9:30pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
I took a different approach (since I don't have a tone generator)

I decided to change V3 , the first tube in the 2nd channel. I switched it from an 12AX7 to a 12AT7.
I think I like that better, but I did notice that Channel 1 gain has a big jump between the 1am-2am position (not attributed to the AT7, but more due to me hearing the change)

so I wonder if it has more to do with channel 1's gain control?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, May 02, 2015 3:05am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2014 1:40pm
Posts: 27
Are you human?: 951
fdgyhy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, May 13, 2015 3:47pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
hammer jammer wrote:
fdgyhy


Helpful.. thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu, Jun 11, 2015 9:47am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Sep 03, 2014 1:06pm
Posts: 43
Are you human?: 951
I have the same problem. Swapping/replacing tubes has not lead to differences.. I hope you'll find a solution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Oct 18, 2015 5:11pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Oct 18, 2015 5:04pm
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Has anybody figured this out yet?

I've just had this problem pop up on my Renegade (it's 4 yrs old).

Very diminished volume on channel 1. I'd have to crank this channel up all the way & still not get the same volume level as channel 2.

I've swapped out the V2 preamp tube & no change. I've adjusted the tube mix on both channels between the 6L6's & EL34s, but it does not affect the volume on either channel - therefore I'm willing to say it's not a tube issue.

I'm not an amp repair expert, so I'm afraid that I might have to take this in to get it looked at.

Hope someone has an answer for this - thanks in advance for your help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Jan 27, 2016 10:18pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
Bump


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Jul 19, 2016 10:18am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Oct 18, 2015 5:04pm
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
bump again

Has anyone figured this out yet?

I'd hate to think of my Renegade as a big boat anchor...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 20, 2016 7:47pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Apr 24, 2013 6:51pm
Posts: 29
Are you human?: 951
This forum is pretty much dead, I've been trying to figure out who unsuspecting soil I can unload my amp on,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 08, 2016 12:57pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Tue, Nov 08, 2016 12:55pm
Posts: 1
Are you human?: 951
Another try I suppose. Has anyone had any luck figuring this out on their own or by taking it to a shop? I am having the same issue and it is quite frustrating. Any input would be greatly appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Nov 22, 2016 10:15am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Oct 18, 2015 5:04pm
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Yeah, I just took mine to the shop last month. There was something with one of the internal components that was the problem. Even the tech said that he couldn't pinpoint the cause, but once he started poking around inside & checking things out that he got it working properly again.

Sorry I don't have a more defined answer, but the bottom line is that it was something internal and beyond my abilities to fix.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun, Feb 24, 2019 1:14am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sun, Feb 24, 2019 1:12am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
I'm having the same problem with my renegade 65 head... Has anyone figured out what is causing this problem?

_________________
Jack Davenport


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Aug 09, 2019 11:16am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Fri, Aug 09, 2019 11:08am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
I also have the same issue. Channel one must be cranked up to 8 while the lead channel is between 1 and 2. Not the tubes all checked out. Did anyone ever get a handle on what it might be?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use