Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Mar 24, 2019 1:00am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Captor Volume Too Low
PostPosted: Wed, Dec 19, 2018 7:40am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Dec 19, 2018 7:28am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Hi, I am having problems getting a good sound from may captor. I am using a 50 watt Marshall JVM into the 16ohm captor out to my Focusrite Clarrett 4Pre interface. I turn the master volume on the amp up to about 2 oclock which through a speaker would deafen you. I then turn the captor up to around 2 oclock as well. My interface has to be almost up all the way to get even a decent volume. The problem is that turning the interface up causes too much noise. I find that the output volume sweep on the captor affects the tone ALOT. At noon it sounds trebly and thin and gets bassier as I turn it up. So volume and tone are tied together which is odd especially with such small moves. I feel like I am struggling to get enough volume into the captor or out of it to the interface without turning my interface up completely. I have tried the xlr out and the trs line out. both are weak. I also find that if i turn down my interface and turn up the captor out volume the noise is ridiculous as well as the tone gets bassier. Should the captor need to be turned almost all the way up to be sending a strong enough signal to run my interface preamp at normal levels? Any input would help....also I am NOT using the cab sim. Its into WOS. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Dec 21, 2018 1:32pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Hi Stsilas,

by any chance, are you using the XLR out and not sending phantom power or other kind of power supply to it?

The output of the Captor is pretty hot, you shouldn't have any volume issue.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 22, 2018 2:21am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Dec 19, 2018 7:28am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
I have used xlr with phantom power as well as the trs line out (obviously without 48v). I have to turn my interface up all the way as well as the captor up to 3 o'clock. The noise floor is horrible for recording. I have felt the captor is weak. Not sure what's up. Frustrating for sure.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Dec 22, 2018 9:45am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Stsilas that is not normal at all, something is wrong but without being in the same room as you it's hard to tell what it is.

Maybe return the Captor, but we barely see any failing, I would search for a defective cable or maybe something wrong with the interface, if with a new Captor you keep having issues. Would you beable to test the Captor without your soundcard, with just a mixer for example?

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon, Dec 24, 2018 1:14am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Wed, Dec 19, 2018 7:28am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Hi, the interface is new and works perfectly. Tried multiple cables. I don't have an external mixer to try. Also, should the captor change tone when turning up? It gets more treble from 1 o'clock even up to 2 o'clock. The volume doesn't raise much but the tone of the signal definitely does. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 11, 2019 5:12am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
All of that is weird, just ask for a return and see how the new one works, I'm afraid can't help you more than that without actually seing the unit and/or your system.

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use