Rig-Talk

Guitars, Gear, Tone!
It is currently Sun, Mar 24, 2019 12:59am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 05, 2019 1:48am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Thu, Dec 27, 2018 12:37am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
I am using user IRs. I select the folder in menu "select user impulse directory..." The spinning arrow around searches for about 2 minutes then it comes up with 57000 or so files. Every time I load the plugin on and project or even the same project it does this. It takes about two minutes every time. Go to 1.50 of this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMaNaHHk38g

It does it within 1 second. Why is mine taking so long? I have it on a ssd drive that is fast. I am using the vst3 version of the plugin on Cubase 9.5.

Anyhelp? I do not get this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 05, 2019 6:31am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
It's the same for me. I found this in the manual (not yet updated): "Please note that the files must reside at the root of that folder, without any subfolders".
Then I've also found the plugin to be more stable if I don't have too many IRs in the chosen folder (443 right now).
The problem seems to be that it loads all the IRs in the folder at startup. The other IR-plugin I'm using seems to load each IR as i choose it, so it can be used with any number of IRs sorted up in subfolders.
This is the dark side of WoS, I guess.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 05, 2019 10:16am 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Thu, Dec 27, 2018 12:37am
Posts: 3
Are you human?: 951
Thanks for the response. I tried moving the folder to the root of the drive. Same thing happens. I tried Mixir2 it load everything in under 1 second. But the volume sliders do nothing. The plugin has not been updated in 5 years. I want to try Cab Lab 3 but they do not seem to have a demo. Neither does Impulsive. I would love to try these to make sure they work before I buy them. Which one do you use?

I do not know why 2 notes has not fixed this problem yet? Maybe they just want people to buy their cabs and not use wav IRs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 05, 2019 12:35pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
I use MixIR2 too. Works fine for me. I prefer WoS though.
With root they mean that there should not be any subfolders to the folder you choose. It doesn't have to be at the root of the drive, the IRs should be at the root of the folder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 11, 2019 3:34pm 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
Quote:
The plugin has not been updated in 5 years


We released MANY updates this year, what version do you have? LAtest version is 4.3.2:

https://www.two-notes.com/en/downloads

Quote:
With root they mean that there should not be any subfolders to the folder you choose. It doesn't have to be at the root of the drive, the IRs should be at the root of the folder.


That is correct, also we encourage not have billions of files in the same folder. ;)

And no we don't want to make the use of IRs hard, we appreciate your feedback to actually make it better!

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat, Jan 12, 2019 4:45pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
guillaume_pille wrote:
That is correct, also we encourage not have billions of files in the same folder. ;)

And no we don't want to make the use of IRs hard, we appreciate your feedback to actually make it better!


To me it is a bit messy having to copy the most wanted IRs to a flat folder. Would be much easier if it were possible to use the IRs in their usual storage folder system. Easier to test and discard thoughts, change bit rate for different purposes and so on.
Now I have to go to mixIR2 if I want to be "impulsive" in my choice of impulses.

That said, I like WoS as it is, and it is its sound that is the primary thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 18, 2019 9:21am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
You can point to any folder (you can select a folder in the menu). So you don't have to copy anything. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 18, 2019 2:15pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
Yes, I have to copy them. Sometimes I use IRs from three folders to get two mikes + room mikes. And that's only using one cab. After a while I want to try another cab... Most are not at the root of any folder.

The most common I have copied to a "torpedo folder", but when I want to use others I go to mixIR2.

I wonder, does WoS really have to read in all traditional IRs at startup? Or would it be possible to modify the software so it reads in individual IRs only when we choose them? WoS is manificent as it is except in this respect, so don't change anything if it hurts something else.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri, Jan 18, 2019 2:22pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
Here is an example of my folder structure:


Attachments:
irmapp.jpg
irmapp.jpg [ 27.12 KiB | Viewed 211 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Feb 05, 2019 11:14am 
Offline
Plank Cranker Wanker
User avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 22, 2011 3:43am
Posts: 1916
Location: France
Are you human?: 951
OK I'll make sure the team knows about the issue, we are releasing the new Torpedo Remote and the next order of business will be another round of fixes for WoS. ;)

_________________
Affiliation: President @ OROSYS SAS, owner of Two Notes Audio Engineering

Creating pro audio product for the guitar and bass players:
Website : Two Notes Audio Engineering
Follow us on Youtube and Facebook
Two Notes samples on Soundcloud

For the best support, please check the FAQ and create a ticket on the Two Notes Help Desk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue, Feb 05, 2019 2:50pm 
Offline
Hack

Joined: Sat, Oct 13, 2018 10:55am
Posts: 12
Are you human?: 951
Nice!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group - Terms of Use