best way to record guitar at home?

JackBootedThug

MURDERATOR
get one of those torpedo joints or just a sm57 or 58? I have no experience with it and have no idea how to proceed. Everytime I try to record I spend more time trying to figure out how to record and change settings than playing. Then I get pissed and make stupid threads like this. Or bomb other guys threads about recording. I'm like the tourettes guy dealing with this shit.

Highly debated topic..
Golden hot shit Mic Preamp does not cover up shitty mic placement.
I'll take an e906 everytime over a 57.

Depends on what you are wanting to do with the clips.
I have a SM57 + Pod UX1 + Pod Farm + Audacity
But this is much easier.....maybe easier than a phone. Better quality for sure.
4V0581ul.jpg

Last edited:
This is my setup. Behringer uphoria pre. I have Reaper and audacity for daw's. Also have stl amphub and neural . KRK rocket 8's as and headphones. Reaper seems awesome-just don't know anything about it. Me and a buddy are doing Kashmir. I had to play a fuckin click track on my phone while recording my guitar. In addition to that I had to plug in the headphones-place them far away and listen to the actual sound of my guitar being played unamplified to record it because of latency and other issues. Figured out how to record a backing track from youtube. Then while trying to put a track over it...levels were crazy high with clipping. Latency was unfixable. The struggle is real....This is the way....fuck....