CCV or CCM?

FourT6and2

I currently have a Hot Cat 30R and I've been searching for a new amp for a while. I think I'll keep the Hot Cat, but I'm looking for something in Class A/B that can do some heavier, more modern stuff. I've been looking at Diezel, Bogner (I used to own an Uberschall), Mako, VHT, and now Cameron.

I had a chance to play the Diezel VH4, Herbert, and Einstein. They are nice amps, but a little too stiff for my taste.

Never played or heard a Mako nor a Cameron in person, so I have no real experience to base a judgement of off.

I don't really know how the CCV and CCM differ in tone and feel. Can anybody who has HEARD OR PLAYED THESE AMPS IN PERSON (not in clips) share your experiences?

I play a wide variety of styles, but I tend to gravitate toward a modern-voiced, high-gain sound with a raw grind/growl gain structure, tight low-end (but not overbearing), a smooth mid response that is on the fence between scooped and an in-your-face type of mid presence, and a high-end that is also smooth, cuts, but doesn't present itself as harsh or thin.

Stylistically, I play stuff like Tool, A Perfect Circle, Dredg, Coheed and Cambria, Killswitch Engage, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, NOFX, The Doors, Grateful Dead, Pink Floyd, and etc.

I don't really need a super versitile amp since I'll have the Hot Cat for other tones.

My guitars are a PRS Artist Singlecut, a Jackson Dinky with EMG 81/85, and I'm thinking about getting an ESP Horizon with Duncan JB/59.

I also really really hate amps that are "crunchy" sounding. I prefer an open, airy, 3D tone with a hint of smoothness.

So, either nobody except a few people have actually heard these amps in person and those few aren't posting or nobody cares enough to help me out...

FourT6and2":2izznheo said:
So, either nobody except a few people have actually heard these amps in person and those few aren't posting or nobody cares enough to help me out...