Running a 16ohm and 8ohm cab together

jake5150

I'm using an 8ohm Diezel FL v30 cab with my VH4, sounds great. For bigger gigs it'd be nice to somehow incorporate my 16ohm Marshall 1960a as I'm the only guitarist in the band. Is there any safe way to do this? I've already done a bit of research and discovered the Weber Z Matcher, although I haven't found a huge amount of info on it. Does anyone else make anything similar? Or is there an easier way of doing it?

Thanks!

You can run it lower and be OK I hear? One way stresses the amp and is bad, the other way is ok.

I would not advise any of that, rewire the 8ohm cab to 16 ohm and match them up is my opinion.

jake5150":3rflq9kl said:
I didn't think you could wire an 8ohm cab to be 16? It's 8ohm mono and 16ohm stereo

The speaker ratings and wiring methods determine total load options.

I’m no expert but maybe mono/stero is what you need? Not sure what ohm your speakers are.

http://www.colomar.com/Shavano/4x12wiring.html

Edit: I guess you need both amp jacks for this. So you’re right probably. New speakers or mismatch I suppose.

jake5150":1tq3zmaw said:
It's 2 16ohm speakers. I think it's only possible to wire them in 8ohm or 32?

Yes, but isn't the other cab already at 8 ohms? Just have them both to 8 ohms and run amp at 4?

Annnnnd edit again :scared: The VH4 doesnt have the ohm switch does it?

Not sure how the Diezel speaker outs are, but if I were running my Mesa 8 Ohm cab with my Marshall 16 Ohm cab out of my JMP 2203 I'd set the impedance selector to 4 ohms and be OK. As long as you run lower than your lowest impedance cab you will be fine.

Maybe Jim or one of the pros can chime in but afaik there is no way to do this unless you do the mono/stero wiring for one cab and IF your amp allows you to use 3 of the jacks.

TBH looking at the back of the VH4 is pretty confusing to me. Not sure if you can use 3 jacks or not.

If you can: