Channel Volume vs Master Volume

• Thread starter Deleted member 23705
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 23705

I'm still learning how to dial-in the VHX. How do you guys typically set the volume levels on your Diezels?

I've asked @Leo Diezel this same question and he likes the channel volumes around 50% (12 o'clock) and the master volume a quarter of the way up (depending on volume).

I've seen some people recommend running the master high and setting the channel volumes to taste. But I've also read a few other responses where people would run the channel volumes high and then have the master low.

What are the differences in tone?

Quite a good question and I think a lot of posts around this topic already on the forum. I haven't tried this on the VHX so far (still on IR at home) for the VH4 in combination with full Musicians around I personally prefer to have the Channel volume not lower than 11 o clock, rather reduce the master at that point in time, below 9 o clock, I personally have the feeling that amp losing "livingness", having said this, for me its difficult to run the VH4 on lower volume than Channel to 11, Master to 9, but would still prefer to lower the master than the Channel Volume in that case.... (and the amp still sounds great at bedroom level, just not as good as it could be)...

Low master volume and high channel volume will give you a brighter and tighter sound, with a bit more compression as well.

A lower channel volume and higher master volume is darker, less compressed and more dynamic
Leo:

I was asking this question elsewhere and then found this board and figured it would be more appropriate here.

On a VH2 does one volume switch activate the power tubes more?