Emg single volume, what’s wrong?

acceptance

What am I doing wrong here?

IMG_5808.jpeg

IMG_5809.jpeg

Scan Oct 7, 2023 at 8.45 PM.jpg

it looks like the shielded wire going from the center terminal of the Jack to the ground lug of the potentiometer, has the shield grounded at both ends.
This wouldn’t keep the pickup from working but it does keep the shielding from doing any good.

Also what pickup is it/what is “pickup black” supposed to be?

Last edited:
it looks like the shielded wire going from the center terminal of the Jack to the ground lug of the potentiometer, has the shield grounded at both ends.
What do you mean grounded at both ends? Isn't it supposed go to the third lug like the diagram? Also, do I need to use shielded wire for the jack? That's what came installed, but I've used regular guitar wire as well and things work.
Also what pickup is it/what is “pickup black” supposed to be?
The black wire on the EMG 3 prong connectors. Not sure what it is. I'm a total amateur in case you hadn't noticed. I just try to follow the diagrams and make good joints.

What do you mean grounded at both ends? Isn't it supposed go to the third lug like the diagram? Also, do I need to use shielded wire for the jack? That's what came installed, but I've used regular guitar wire as well and things work.

The black wire on the EMG 3 prong connectors. Not sure what it is. I'm a total amateur in case you hadn't noticed. I just try to follow the diagrams and make good joints.

On second look, I think I was incorrect about the shielding being wrong. In the Jack photo it looked like both the shield and the white wire were soldered to the center lug, but now that I look again it does look to be correct.

So ignore the following paragraphs aside for your own information lol

The “shield” is basically wrapped around the wire to prevent interference. It’s the frayed wire stuff that surrounds the white coated wire.