NGD. Need paint/body guys input, this is a project.

RJF

I just picked up a 1985 San Dimas Jackson soloist, J code serial. It has a Kahler in the bridge and appears to be a Jeff Beck styled setup that he had in the 80's. The pink bridge pickup is a screamon demon and is coming out pronto, I hate SH12's.

I bought it from the original owner and it's had a rough life, he did some body work to it to fill in some dings, but it's completely strait and plays really well. It's ready to be sanded down and shot with some fresh paint. It's not the most beautiful piece at the moment, but for $500 I couldn't complain one bit.

My question for the auto body/paint pros is what is the best process to get it painted right? I am a decent painter, I paint a lot of equipment on a regular basis, but not much "auto" type stuff where there is wet sanding type work involved. Let me know if you see a flaw in my paint plans.

1. Get electronics/metal off of it.
2. Block sand the body and get it all smoothed out.
3. Tape up fretboard and headstock really well.
4. A coat or 2 of primer sealer
5. sand sealer with like 1200 grit
6.repeat 4 and 5 if necessary
7. shoot color coat, apply as many coats as necessary to get good even coverage.
8. Apply clear coat, apply as many coats as necessary to get good even coverage.
2015-12-23%2017.49.38_zpsxemm5i3d.jpg

2015-12-23%2016.44.25_zpshfqq2kb0.jpg

2015-12-23%2016.43.55_zpstantl07z.jpg

2015-12-23%2016.44.04_zps6ljbbawm.jpg

my experience is with furniture and guns so take this with a grain of salt-rub it down with formby's furniture refinisher and fine steel wool(0-0-0-0). if that doesn't remove everything asap, you will probably have to go with stripeaze and a plastic scraper. use a clothes iron and a wet rag to remove what dings you can, then go to work sanding. start with a heavier grit and finish light. million good videos on youtube to check out.