Saw STP w/ Meat Puppets last night

kannibul

Meat Puppets: SUCK. You'd think a one-hit wonder would get some decent equipment, and have their sound properly set up...or maybe the sound was properly set up...but man - they sounded horrible. You can tell someone obviously wrote their one-hitter. Peavey 2x12 solid state bass combo, some guitar amp (head, black w/tan, panel on top) and 1x12 cab, black w/ tan grill I didn't recognize) Unintelligable vocals, too much effects over vocals, cymbals non-existant, snare was horrible, despite it looking like an "add-on-upgrade" - think NIN's Closer, but with less bass...uhg. At one point I stuck my fingers in my ears, and the sound was instantly better (it was more balanced - I suspect whoever did sound check, did it with earplugs in - seriously!)

STP: Holy shit they brought their A-Game to a small (3-4K) venue. Scott was ON it. As a musician I enjoyed the shit out of the performance, as a fan I enjoyed the shit out of the whole thing. So many great songs, guitar tones were unbelievable...drums sounded great too...the floor toms especially came across VERY well. Don't know enough about bass to judge, but I know he was using Ampeg cabs. Couldn't make out any of the rack gear.

Noteables:

Scott's birthday - they brought out a cake and had us sing. Oddly, the last concert I went to AIC, and was Jerry Cantrell's father's birthday, who was present (Jerry is from Oklahoma), and they had us sing as well.

Inside: On the way out the door from the place some dude was yelling "Get out the way, I got to get my girl out of here" and was pushing me a bit - I look over at him, and say "So do I, so does everyone else" in a nice agressive shut-the-fuck-up-you-half-drunk-idiot kind of tone. "We cool, we cool, man let me get a hand(shake)" - I look at him again like he's a flaming moron, grabbed his hand and pushed it down.