So where is the Theory 101 class?

Boatman, all it takes is to stop posting 33 times a day at HC and hit the threads and books.

Ed's first thread and what Adam said to slow it down is all you need to start out.

3 months and you will be able to do a jam with no problems if you just set out to do it.

dit-to :) All I do is mash mah fingers up on teh tiny strings and go, "meedly meedly meedly mahEEEEEEwrerrrrrnggggghhh" :)

mJ

You guys ask for Theory 101 but don't state what you want to learn about. There are so many aspects and forms of theory that it could take a lifetime to learn everything out there. You wanna start leaning scales, how to read music, learning chords, figuring out what you're playing or what?

Personally, I can play some solos, I can play some scales, but I don't know SQUAT about the technical side of things. I don't know what's what, I don't know much more than a complete beginner in that aspect. I'm the type of person that learned to play guitar simply by listening and watching guys I like, figuring it out/checking the tabs, etc.

mJ

Code001":bdf32 said:
You guys ask for Theory 101 but don't state what you want to learn about. There are so many aspects and forms of theory that it could take a lifetime to learn everything out there. You wanna start leaning scales, how to read music, learning chords, figuring out what you're playing or what?

I guess my issue is figuring out what I'm playing. I have the Guitar Grimoire books and I have been able to figure out most of the time what I'm doing, but I just need a better way to understand it. I know chords and I know most of the scales, but I tend to get lost in modes for some reason. I know how to read music, but I need to really practice that because it takes me forever to figure out what a chord is when I see it on a staff.

4nkam":f11f9 said: