V1a, 220k - 100k plate resistor Friedman values sound difference?

jasonP

After reviewing some schematics of Friedman amps, I keep finding this off of V1a tube plate resistor, rather the just a 330k plate, he uses a 220k and 100k in series with a partial 500p bypass capacitor over the 100k. Why not just use one resistor and cap instead of 2 resistors? I've never tried this arrangement before and has be interested to try it on an amp to see the results, I am guessing there is a tone difference between the 2 and that is why it's done. Have any of you guys tried this before?

That arrangement softens the influence of anode resistor bypass cap. But 220K in series with shunted 100k I believe has almost no effect in comparison with simple 330k. Maybe he would just like to know, who copied his amp :D

I was curious a bit, what frequencies are affected. Based on the simulation, small influence around 0.5dB only (red/green) above 5k. Full bypass is a completely different story (violet). Dotted lines is a phase.

Screenshot 2023-01-20 19.39.36.png

That arrangement softens the influence of anode resistor bypass cap. But 220K in series with shunted 100k I believe has almost no effect in comparison with simple 330k. Maybe he would just like to know, who copied his amp :D
I am going to try it and put it on a switch to see if I can hear a difference! I see it being used in a lot of places now.

I was curious a bit, what frequencies are affected. Based on the simulation, small influence around 0.5dB only (red/green) above 5k. Full bypass is a completely different story (violet). Dotted lines is a phase.

View attachment 156580

So green and red line is 220k and 100k resistor in series, with and without the 500p bypass cap on v1a?
Then the purple line is one 330k resistor and a 500p bypass cap on v1a?