Ceriatone Chupacabra tweaks?

aside

Hi guys,

Was bored the other day so picked up a Chupa out of curiosity. Getting some ok sounds. but a few questions for those with some experience and a few mins:

1. Without either of the bright switches this thing is really dark, thick and compressed. Yeah I know the bright switches are there for a reason but damn, it's wooly. I thought this was a bright amp. Is this normal? Using bright switches solves some problems but creates others.

2. Anyone modded one? I had a quick look at the schematic and there a few things that don't 'look' great but I'm no expert.
- Plate resistor on first stage is huge (470k) - maybe adding to the compression and mushy feel?
- Output coupling caps are .1uF - maybe too much low end passing through?
- 820ohm/.68uF RC combo on cathode of 1st three stages. This seems like a lot of gain. Maybe changing to 2.7k on the first two would help by reducing some gain?

3. Has the loop liked many of your pedals? Hit and miss for me.

Tried a variety of guitars and cabs, and it's all pretty consistent (dark, thick). I want this thing to cut, sting and terrify small children!

Thanks.

Just my opinions

The .1uF output couplers are fine imo.
The 820//0.68uF combo doesn't have much more gain than 2k7 but does have more low end (potentially flub) and feels different. I usually hate 820ohm on that first cathode but like it fine on the last one.
470k plate is quite high and could be contributing, for me 330k is usually about right but varies person-to-person and amp-to-amp.

Maybe check for snubbers in the circuit. People often overdo it on snubbers imo.

Also check the NFB, that has a big effect on the brightness.

Change the first stage to 100k plate, 2k || 0.68uf which is a bit hotter than 2203

Second stage should be normal Marshall territory, 100k plate with 10k cathode

Third should be 100k with 820 0hm. Bypass it with a 0.68uf

Change the first coupling cap to 0.0022uF to back down the flub