What was you’re first guitar?

And the "Stupidity of Youth Award" goes to....me.

I had been playing an acoustic for a few years, but wanted an electric.
My father acquired from a touring co-worker, a....
1965 Gibson Melody Maker.
Cherry red. Double cutaways.
Double pickups, with tremolo.

He scored it for like $200 because it was a road dog.
Finish was checked all to hell. Neck was broken and repaired, twice.
Didn't stay in tune for nothing.
Single coils sounded horrible.

I absolutely hated it.
I was heavy into RATT at the time, and here I had this grandpa guitar.
I traded it a few years later for something pointy.

Ironically, I now play country music and would kill to have that guitar back.
We've all been there man. I was into all of those hair metal guitars and my friend had an old Gretsch. I told him it was some cheap guitar he probably wouldn't get anything for when we went to a pawn shop. The guys in the shop told him "here is some advice...don't listen to your friend" . Lol

Cherry sunburst Hondo II LP copy in 1980. Had it about a year and figured out the bridge was in the wrong place and wouldnt intonate.

1966 or 67 Fender Jaguar I was so embarrassed of it because all my friends had the hot looking Kramer's and back in the day Arbor that were very fancy looking I would do anything to get that guitar back now

I don’t have a picture but get this . Lol my first guitar was a yellow SG standard body with a mirror pick guard . Lol then it had one single coil pick up with a strat neck . I’ll find a picture. Some guy made it. The most insane guitar mongrel lol
7AA595D9-5036-41B1-9DFC-76B75C01B789.jpeg

Here’s what’s left of it lol . Got fucked up some

My first guitar was an Aria Pro II FS in Red. I knew absolutely nothing about guitar, but it's all the things I absolutely hate about guitars now. :ROFLMAO: Red guitars, SSS pickup layout, painted necks, rosewood boards, dislike all that stuff, but man I'd like to have one again.

Attachments